We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic “Off the Grid” Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Penthouse Bedroom Penthouse sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Villa
Penthouse Bedroom
Penthouse sitting area
Penthouse kitchen
Penthouse Veranda
Ducks in the pond
Library
Main kitchen
Parrot
Pool & Palapa
Purple Sky
Sunset
Keel-billed Toucan
View of driveway from Penthouse balcony
Xunantanich
The Villa
Main Veranda
Kitchen and 2nd balcony
view from balconey
Penthouse bed /sitting
Private bathroom
slate shower
another view south to the Maya mountains
Drive in from front gates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
San Ignacio, Cayo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Randi-Tom
Gillette, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic “Off the Grid” Experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife, 21 yr. old son and I just spent 4 nights in the Avana Villa Penthouse for the first stage of our 12 days in Belize. Owners Martha & Murray proved to be fantastic hosts and the villa was the perfect basecamp for our daily adventures. Guests should plan to first arrive while it is still light out since the villa is located several miles west of San Ignacio. A small sign marks the turn to Avana Villa which is 1.5 miles off the Western Highway, down a bumpy, rocky “driveway”. The first ride down the road was intimidating; however we soon embraced the ride, especially at night when we were guided by nighthawks flying along the road. It is a 15 minute drive to San Ignacio and a car is recommended. Four wheel drive is not required as our rented Hyundai Sante Fe proved adequate.
The 4th floor penthouse suite is spacious, and immaculately clean with a large changing room/bathroom and a well-stocked kitchen. There is also a large veranda with a dining area and several lounge chairs. The veranda overlooks a beautifully landscaped property with a sheep pasture, fruit trees and fragrant, flowering tropical vegetation. The sunset views from the veranda are spectacular. Our favorite feature of the property was the triangular pool (which points directly to the Mayan archaeological site of Xunantunich.) The pool was the perfect way to cool off after an adventure filled day in the hot tropical sun. During our daily swim we were accompanied by the three property dogs, who entertained us playing their version of fetch.
Although the house is off the grid there is never a “lights out” period without power. The Villa does not have air conditioning but with ceiling fans and mountain breezes we slept comfortably each night. Surprisingly, mosquitos and bugs were not a problem. The Wi-Fi was sufficient for our email and web browsing needs. The villa also has a large library of DVD’s and books of all kinds for guests to use. Martha and Murry are not only welcoming hosts but also provided us with plenty of, what to do, what to see and where to eat information.
All three of us would highly recommend a stay at Avana Villa for anyone looking for a remarkable, comfortable, off the grid Belize experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Hi Randi and Tom,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Yes we are 3 miles from town and half of it is that wonderful drive to our jungle. Our road is better than many around here, and we do not own a four-wheel drive commuter vehicle ourselves. The tour companies pick-up here regularly and we keep a list of taxi drivers.

We too were surprised at the scarcity of mosquitoes here; not anywhere near the numbers we had back in western Canada!

Thanks again. We enjoyed having you folks and you are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ak474me
Rockton, Pa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, wonderful people :)”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I really enjoyed my stay here. The owners were wonderful and friendly. Had so much fun talking Canadian football and hockey while swimming in the pool. The owner also took me to watch as she fed the animals. It was so nice to go out exploring and come back to swim and cook our dinner. The sounds of parrots and monkeys filled the air around the villa :) It was a truly great place to spend my birthday after exploring TIkal...hope to stay again...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Sean, Thank you very much for the kind words about us and the Villa. It was certainly a pleasure to have you both, and share your adventure with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-MacGEO
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Jungle Stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just had a great stay at Avana Villa. Located 5-10 minutes out of town (but too far to walk) we did just fine using taxi's/ tour group pick-ups, without a rental car. Penthouse was clean and with AMAZING views of the surrounding areas. No issues with noise at night and saw a flock of about 40 parrots on our fourth morning. Martha can take you for a walk around the grounds after dark showing you all sorts of neat stuff, and there's not much point in going to the botanical garden if you're staying here as the grounds have a wide variety of trees and flowering shrubs. Folks not comfortable climbing stairs or desiring AC may not find this place ideal, but we were fine. Martha and Murray can provide lots of advice for tours and restaurants, and helped us find back-up plans when a tour we had planned was cancelled at the last minute. We also really appreciated flexibility in our arrival and departure times.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are extremely pleased you took the time for this, and especially that you enjoyed staying with us at Avana Villa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K S
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We loved our week here!! It was like a week in Paradise. The kitchen was great, especially with the kids who are "starving!" the second they wake up. We loved the pool, especially after a warm day of hiking Mayan sites. The grounds are beautiful, the penthouse was so roomy, clean and comfortable and the veranda offered amazing views! The hosts are amazing also - so friendly and hospitable. We couldn't have chosen a better place to base ourselves out of!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely, wildlife filled jungle bungalow in the center of Belize adventure and culture”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Avana Villa is very laid back and on absolutely amazing grounds. The penthouse has sunset views over the Guatemalan mountains. At first we weren't sure about staying here - the long road to the house, the dogs, the gated driveway were a little intimidating - but it turned out to be a spectacular few days near Benque and San Ignacio. The grounds are home to so many birds and howler monkeys roam the trees surrounding the estate.The hosts, Martha and Murray, are so knowledgeable about all the local things to see and do and there are so many! Ruins, jungles, gardens, rivers, wildlife all in abundance. The road to the house requires 4 wheel drive and it is maybe 10 minutes to either Benque or San Ignacio by car. The house is truly off grid - solar powered and no air conditioning. With the breezes we did just fine and plenty of power for cooking and hot water for showering. The penthouse is very spacious and suited our needs perfectly. We loved this area and our stay. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you Auryel for such a glowing review! We truly enjoyed having you folks join us here. We had a great time and would love to have you visit again. It was sad to see you leave. For other travelers though, I would mention that we regularly have the local 1990s era Toyota Corolla taxis in here to ferry guests, and our own vehicle is a simple 2wd.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing