We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
880
141
38
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
141
38
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront casita our honeymoon jade spa view suite gaia riverlodge water taxi ambergris caye fish paddle boats coconut mojito mosquito netting sea breeze minute boat ride turn down service shark ray alley snorkeling gear thatched roof
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

The service staff at Matachica are some of the best-trained and most courteous my wife and I have ever come across. The grounds are well kept, the cottages are clean, and the resort makes every effort to help you have a nice, relaxing time. The daily excursions and spa options are coordinated seamlessly by the concierge, and guests are punctually picked up right on the dock. Our only complaint is the music played in the bar and dining room during mealtimes - obscure slow/light covers of pop songs, 70s bossa nova, and mellow house/electronic could be improved with any newer or more recognizable music in the rotation to help make the experience a bit more enjoyable. That being said, we will absolutely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

If your looking for a quite, romantic, disconnect from life experience look no further than Matachica resort. This place is amazing. Staff is simply wonderful, they go out of their way constantly to make your stay perfect.
We bought the diving package and it was AMAZING!! Like diving in a clear fish tank. Can’t wait to come diving to Belize again.
Rooms were very clean. Mosquitos are indeed an issue at night to walk around but they provide you with repellant so don’t even bother packing it and in hotel common areas they have coils that keep the little buggers off. If you don’t like spraying yourself with repellant, like me, buy some of those natural plant based repellant bracelets. You can find a 12 pack in Amazon for about $15 and they work great.
The food at the resort was so good, nothing we order disappointed, loved the food!! And try the coconut mojito that was my fav, so yummy.
The Spa services are very good. Would definitely come back here and highly recommend the stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jalek97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Ok... this is going to be brutally honest. Hands down, Matachica would be the only place we would stay if we were to ever return to Ambergris Caye. The grounds are flawless and it's like an oasis. However, Grand Caribe and Mahogany Bay would be viable options as well. The good: an authentic beach experience. The linens they use, which are Frette, provide excellent sleep quality. The little casitas are awesome and offer great privacy. The breakfast is amazing and they also give you plenty of options. The design, architecture and layout of the resort is beautiful. Only thing with that though is we were curious as to why they put the pool in the back of the resort and why wasn't it built as an infinity pool with an ocean view? Didn't understand that logic.

Overall, it is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Staff is friendly and they have security guards that patrol the grounds at night just to make you feel secure. Christian was one of the guards we spoke with and was very helpful and professional.

Now the bad: The resort really mostly played music from the states. and it was pretty awful. It seemed as tho it was just CD's on repeat. They rarely played latin music. It's essentially cover music with a jazz vibe. There's also no tiki torches of any kind or fire lighting. That's understable tho considering everything there has thatch roofing. It'd be a fire hazard but it'd really be a mood setter if they could. Their hot tub was also broken and each day they told us it'd be fixed the following day and it never happened.

The resort is sadly way overpriced. A dessert sized portion of guac and chips is $18 USD. What is that? Total price gouging. $6 USD for a nasty beer which is the equivalent of Busch and $16 USD for a whiskey, which by the way, i'm an avid drinker of scotch and bourbon and the Maker's Mark wasn't legit or it was severely watered down. Their rosé wine tasted like something you'd buy @ a gas station and their coffee is undrinkable. Even the latte's. Tasted like Bob Evan's coffee. Any where in town has better coffee than the resort. Everything you buy has 12% tax + a 15% service charge fee.

They also do not offer refrigerators or coffee stations in your casita so you're forced to buy their expensive food. Some advice tho... go into the south side of town and buy a nice bottle of your favorite liquor and store it in your room and pick up fruits and snacks and bring them back to the resort. We saved roughly $400 by doing this. The resort is somewhat of a money trap. The food at the restaurant is primo, just expensive. It'd make more sense to buy a convenience store in or around the property and provide refrigerators. It's makes the pricing tactic too obvious and puts a bad taste in your mouth. El Fogon in town has some of the best food on the island and is like $35 USD for 2. It's an authentic Belizean cuisine. We ate there at least 4 or 5 times.

The island of Ambergris Caye is filthy. Mosquitoes are the worst we've ever experienced. I get why they bring you to the resort via boat. If you venture anywhere outside the resort area, it's pretty much a landfill. We've been to many vacation spots in the Caribbean and this was by far the dirtiest. It's also too americanized. I get that it was a British colony but who wants to go to central america and listen to country music being played at the restaurants and bars? American sports watchin is also heavily advertised everywhere! If that's your thing and you're one of those people that don't like to explore and leave the resort, you'll be in heaven, but the island doesn't give you much of a cultural experience.

Not sure why government doesn't make an attempt to clean and educate the local people on recycling and picking up their trash. It's insane! The bio diversity of the island is incredible and it has so much potential. The marine life blew our minds. If you go, rent a golf cart. You'll need the freedom. Probably wouldn't return here unless we went with other couples. Drivin' around town on a golf cart was hella fun tho. Hope you find this info useful. Thanks!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank avidtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

What a wonderful and very romantic resort. Having traveled quite a bit throughout the world, Matachica is truly world class with total quality of service, friendliness, and experience. Archie, Adam, JC, Godwin, and Gilbert were truly stand outs and made our stay seem like we were with friends the entire time. Having met the owner while there, I understand what lays behind the great service and spirit of the Matachica Team.....great job all and we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2017
3  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Seven of us spent 4 nights, 5 days here. We loved the resort - it was amazing and relaxing! Customer service was above and beyond. The waiters took the time to know everyone’s names and establish personal connections. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The pillows are fantastic! Matthew and Emil at the front desk were very helpful and coordinated our day excursion of cave tubing and zip lining, which we highly recommend. Gilly and JC provided exceptional bar service. Archie and Robin were amazing waiters. The on-site restaurant, Mambo, has exceptional dinner entrees. Breakfast is included, which is also amazing. If you are looking for a place to truly unwind and unplug, i.e. no TVs, no phones, this is the resort for you. The resort is small and intimate, but very cozy. Highly recommend this resort!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Yemi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews