We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway to get rid of stress and be pampered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2017

OMG, this place is amazing. Upon contacting this resort I knew it was special! Burga ensured that I was being and going to be treated like a VIP, she made me feel I was in good hands. Emil and Anita at the front desk were true professionals tending to all my needs. The food and beverage team treated me like a rockstar and my food was amazing. Special, detailed and genuine hospitality from Mambo's restaurant made my stay. Robin, Ernesto, Adam, Godwin and Archie treated me so personally I felt at home. The boat rides, tours, beaches, pools were immaculately kept, professional, and had me pampered every step of the way. Thank you Matachica!!!! I will be back

Room Tip: the Cassita's are amazing and there is no poor location every room location is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank caltraveler7214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

The service staff at Matachica are some of the best-trained and most courteous my wife and I have ever come across. The grounds are well kept, the cottages are clean, and the resort makes every effort to help you have a nice, relaxing time. The daily excursions and spa options are coordinated seamlessly by the concierge, and guests are punctually picked up right on the dock. Our only complaint is the music played in the bar and dining room during mealtimes - obscure slow/light covers of pop songs, 70s bossa nova, and mellow house/electronic could be improved with any newer or more recognizable music in the rotation to help make the experience a bit more enjoyable. That being said, we will absolutely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

If your looking for a quite, romantic, disconnect from life experience look no further than Matachica resort. This place is amazing. Staff is simply wonderful, they go out of their way constantly to make your stay perfect.
We bought the diving package and it was AMAZING!! Like diving in a clear fish tank. Can’t wait to come diving to Belize again.
Rooms were very clean. Mosquitos are indeed an issue at night to walk around but they provide you with repellant so don’t even bother packing it and in hotel common areas they have coils that keep the little buggers off. If you don’t like spraying yourself with repellant, like me, buy some of those natural plant based repellant bracelets. You can find a 12 pack in Amazon for about $15 and they work great.
The food at the resort was so good, nothing we order disappointed, loved the food!! And try the coconut mojito that was my fav, so yummy.
The Spa services are very good. Would definitely come back here and highly recommend the stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jalek97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Ok... this is going to be brutally honest. Hands down, Matachica would be the only place we would stay if we were to ever return to Ambergris Caye. The grounds are flawless and it's like an oasis. However, Grand Caribe and Mahogany Bay would be viable options as well. The good: an authentic beach experience. The linens they use, which are Frette, provide excellent sleep quality. The little casitas are awesome and offer great privacy. The breakfast is amazing and they also give you plenty of options. The design, architecture and layout of the resort is beautiful. Only thing with that though is we were curious as to why they put the pool in the back of the resort and why wasn't it built as an infinity pool with an ocean view? Didn't understand that logic.

Overall, it is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. Staff is friendly and they have security guards that patrol the grounds at night just to make you feel secure. Christian was one of the guards we spoke with and was very helpful and professional.

Now the bad: The resort really mostly played music from the states. and it was pretty awful. It seemed as tho it was just CD's on repeat. They rarely played latin music. It's essentially cover music with a jazz vibe. There's also no tiki torches of any kind or fire lighting. That's understable tho considering everything there has thatch roofing. It'd be a fire hazard but it'd really be a mood setter if they could. Their hot tub was also broken and each day they told us it'd be fixed the following day and it never happened.

The resort is sadly way overpriced. A dessert sized portion of guac and chips is $18 USD. What is that? Total price gouging. $6 USD for a nasty beer which is the equivalent of Busch and $16 USD for a whiskey, which by the way, i'm an avid drinker of scotch and bourbon and the Maker's Mark wasn't legit or it was severely watered down. Their rosé wine tasted like something you'd buy @ a gas station and their coffee is undrinkable. Even the latte's. Tasted like Bob Evan's coffee. Any where in town has better coffee than the resort. Everything you buy has 12% tax + a 15% service charge fee.

They also do not offer refrigerators or coffee stations in your casita so you're forced to buy their expensive food. Some advice tho... go into the south side of town and buy a nice bottle of your favorite liquor and store it in your room and pick up fruits and snacks and bring them back to the resort. We saved roughly $400 by doing this. The resort is somewhat of a money trap. The food at the restaurant is primo, just expensive. It'd make more sense to buy a convenience store in or around the property and provide refrigerators. It's makes the pricing tactic too obvious and puts a bad taste in your mouth. El Fogon in town has some of the best food on the island and is like $35 USD for 2. It's an authentic Belizean cuisine. We ate there at least 4 or 5 times.

The island of Ambergris Caye is filthy. Mosquitoes are the worst we've ever experienced. I get why they bring you to the resort via boat. If you venture anywhere outside the resort area, it's pretty much a landfill. We've been to many vacation spots in the Caribbean and this was by far the dirtiest. It's also too americanized. I get that it was a British colony but who wants to go to central america and listen to country music being played at the restaurants and bars? American sports watchin is also heavily advertised everywhere! If that's your thing and you're one of those people that don't like to explore and leave the resort, you'll be in heaven, but the island doesn't give you much of a cultural experience.

Not sure why government doesn't make an attempt to clean and educate the local people on recycling and picking up their trash. It's insane! The bio diversity of the island is incredible and it has so much potential. The marine life blew our minds. If you go, rent a golf cart. You'll need the freedom. Probably wouldn't return here unless we went with other couples. Drivin' around town on a golf cart was hella fun tho. Hope you find this info useful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
16  Thank avidtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

What a wonderful and very romantic resort. Having traveled quite a bit throughout the world, Matachica is truly world class with total quality of service, friendliness, and experience. Archie, Adam, JC, Godwin, and Gilbert were truly stand outs and made our stay seem like we were with friends the entire time. Having met the owner while there, I understand what lays behind the great service and spirit of the Matachica Team.....great job all and we will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2017
3  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
12.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
11.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
893 reviews
1.3 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
671 reviews
3 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $578 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing