We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

My wife and I spent our Honeymoon here in June. It was wonderful. I researched all of the resorts on the Island and Matachica is just as all of the great reviews say it is. It is a beautiful place and we had a beachfront cabana that was perfect. Better than the beautiful scenery is the top quality service. Everyone is there to serve you but also stay out of your way if you prefer want to be alone. The whole crew and Myra, our server at meals who was just the sweetest, was exceptional! I would recommend this resort for adults that want to relax for a day or two and would also enjoy an excursion for a day or two. The front desk can set you up with anything you like or you can rent a golf cart and ride out on your own. We did all of this and our seven days flew by before we knew it or wanted it to end. It doesn't seem possible to have any negative reviews of this place! Hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: We had the beach front cabana which had a breeze everyday but they all looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Loved my stay here! The grounds are gorgeous with a great swimming pool, although I didn't use it much because hanging by the ocean was even better. The pier with lounge chairs is the perfect spot to relax all day and was the highlight of my stay. The staff will bring you drinks and snacks and were really good about always checking to make sure I had what I needed.

The food was delicious as well, and the bar area is a fun spot to hang out after a day in the sun.

Matachica is a little outside of town, but was worth it to me as it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle, but with the option to go into town when you'd like.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank AustinRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

This is without doubt the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed at- it is worth every penny so you must go! We spent 5 nights here at the beginning of August and I'm still dreaming of being there. They clearly know what they're doing here and know how to make guests feel pampered. The location is the quintessential Caribbean get away- we had a beach front cabana and so were just a few metres away from the Caribbean Sea. The hotel is a 10 minute boat ride from San Pedro as the north part of the island doesn't have a proper road or would take a long time- I forget which. We ended up eating at the hotel every day as it was a bit more remote than I realised. This was fine as the food was top quality! It is expensive however as 27.5% is added to all drinks and food! 15% service charge and 12.5% tax. But, it is all very high quality so worth every penny in my opinion. The coconut mojito is unbelievable!
The hotel was also very peaceful. It was hard to gauge how many guests were there as it never felt crowded anywhere. The pool is beautiful and there are these gorgeous pods on decks for you to lie on out on the sea. If you're looking for an exotic, luxurious, relaxing stay away from it all, then you just stay here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We had a wonderful trip at the beginning of September at Matachica. The most outstanding characteristic is the wait staff. Edwin, Archie, Adam, Jose, Gilbert, and Alfrid all made our trip great. The facilities are very nice with great air conditioning in the rooms. The staff continually works to make sure that the beach is clear of any seagrass that may float up. The food in Mambo is great. There best choices are the fresh items that are harvested locally. I would think twice about the pasta choice unless it featured fresh seafood. Before settling on Matachica, you should understand that this is a very laid back environment. You are wasting your suitcase space if you pack lots of dress up shoes and clothes. There are not any televisions. I was surprised how much I missed that but it left a surprising amount of time to read and relax. The resort has kayaks, paddleboats and snokel equipment which are complimentary.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an oceanfront hut. The walk to the huts away from the water is innundated with mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

You can't go wrong with Matachica. We did not stay overnight but used their resort ALL DAY on multiple days. The restaurant and pool areas are amazing. The pier and loungers provide you with some of the best views on the Caye.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameswA8401AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.8 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
12.6 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
11.1 km away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 55 in San Pedro
895 reviews
1.3 km away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#17 of 55 in San Pedro
671 reviews
3 km away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $578 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing