We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 42nd Wedding Anniversary”
Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
private beach beach area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Front of the house
private beach
beach area
ocean view
front of home
view from the side
bedroom 1
Beach
view to the beach
ocean view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony18...
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing 42nd Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

July 1, 2014

Anna and I spent eight spectacular nights in San Pedro Belize. We arrived in Belize on June 23, 2014, the day before our 42nd Wedding Anniversary. Wolfgang made reservations with Maya Air for our flight to Ambergris Caye. Wolfgang had Orlando, our taxi driver, meet us at the airport in Ambergris Caye upon our arrival. During our taxi ride from the airport to Casa Buena Vista, Orlando gave us a brief tour along the way. When we arrived at Casa Buena Vista, we were met and welcomed by Wolfgang and staff Eldon and Mirta and pets Cookie and Tiger. They made us feel right at home the moment we stepped from the taxi and greeted us. It was a nice touch to see a handwritten "Welcome Anthony and Anna " outside our door.
When we walked inside and saw our accommodations our mouths felt as if they fell to the floor. OMG!!! the accommodations were exceptional. We stood in the living room and starred at the turquoise water about fifty feet from our front door.
We can't say enough about Eldon and Mirta. Along with Wolfgang, they made our 42nd Wedding Anniversary the most memorable yet. A special thanks to Eldon for checking on us every morning and evening ensuring every detail of our stay was met with the greatest satisfaction.
Wolfgang, thanks for everything. We are already planning our next visit.

Anthony and Anna Calhoun
San Diego CA.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twaveling...
Allamuchy, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Place to relax and get away on Ambergris Caye”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From our initial inquiries through booking and our stay at Villa Casa Buena Vista, Wolfgang made our first trip to Belize a memorable one.

The property is located about 2 miles south of San Pedro town and sits directly on the water. The bottom floor of the main house and the casita behind it are both available for stays. We stayed in the main house and had a fully functional kitchen, large living area, a very comfortable king-sized bed and a spacious bath at our disposal. The sliding door opened to the veranda overlooking an open area with lounging chairs, palm trees (watch out for coconuts) and the beautiful ocean. Access along the waterfront is public, so foot traffic passes through...not much and everyone is certainly friendly.

Wolfgang was very helpful in advance by recommending a couple of dive operations and other things to do while on the Caye. The first day we were there, he took us on a personal tour with his insider tips and secrets only the locals know. These included a wonderful rolled taco stand on "Back Street", a coffee / cigar shop on "Middle Street", and numerous restaurant recommendations. By all means rent a golf cart - it is the only way to get around if staying outside of San Pedro.

Eldon the caretaker at the property and is there daily. He has a wealth of knowledge as well, helping with some specialized trip packaging for us. Both he and Wolfgang would check in with us each day to make certain all was 'just right'. Piers reaching into the water from neighboring properties provided the 'swimming access' in the warm (86 degree) waters.

The property is well-maintained. Free wi-fi is available as well as satellite TV with every channel imaginable just in case you cannot tear yourself away from the outside world and totally immerse in the beauty of the island. Mirta takes care of the housekeeping, offering a mid-week clean-up as part of the package, and will do your laundry as well if you ask.

There are 2 other permanent residents at Casa Buena Vista - Cookie and Tiger. Both are rescue dogs and as friendly as one can imagine. During our stay, Cookie adopted us, and would stop in to say hello and have a nap in apartment.. If you are already a dog lover, this is a real treat. If you are not, you might just become one by the end of your stay.

In a nutshell, Wolfgang, Eldon and Mirta will go out of their way to make certain all is perfect for your stay. The personalized service is gauged to match what you ask for and to allow you to enjoy your Belize vacation to its fullest. With the main floor and the casita, parties of 6 can be easily accommodated, and possibly up to 8.

We consider this property a great find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of personalized service geared to match what you ask for
Liked least: If you need a fresh water swimming pool with your rental, you will need to stay somewhere else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yohotdad
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Another Great Vacation”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We 1st stayed at the Casita in 2012 and we had such a great time that we went back in Feb 2014 for another 2 weeks with friends at the Casa Buena Vista. As like the other reviews Wolfgang is a great host and his staff Elden & Marta are excellent and very accomodating. Elden will book any adventures ie snorkiling trips on a relaxing sail boat that you may wish. it is a very relaxing & private property. Great restaurants available 2 walkable others via golf cart (cart makes the whole experience much more enjoyable)
Would deffinitely reccommend staying here!! We are looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: as advertised, contacted owner before travelling and he was very helpful quickly answering all our questions
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Where do I begin ? Wolfgang had Orlando waiting on us at the air strip to take us to the Villa. Top notch service. We were greeted at the villa with our golf carts already there and Wolfgang, Eldon and Mirta smiling, waiting on us. Fresh juice in the refrigerator and fresh cut flowers in a vase on the bar. Our every need was met and this was an AWESOME 21st Anniversary !!
We snorkeled, swam, went on a catamaran snorkel trip complete with fishing, food and sunset. The following day we went on a big sailboat for an all day 4-stop snorkel trip, MORE AWESOME FOOD and swam with NERF SHARKS and STINGRAYS and fish everywhere!! Experience of a lifetime!! Wolfgang took us on a tour and showed us great local restaurants and was the perfect host. ELDON was there bright and early every morning keeping the grounds up and running to the store for me and doing anything we needed. WHAT A SUPER GUY!! Mirta came and cleaned twice and even did our laundry. She is so nice and smiling all the time. What a SWEETHEART. Wolfgang is the PERFECT host. Always there (he lives upstairs), but never intrusive. How can i forget COOKIE & TIGER!! We were missing our Lab, Maggie, back home and Cookie filled that hole for us that week. We would go back TOMORROW !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Great View and Great Company”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was my first experience to Belize along with my travel buddy. We decided to take a girl's trip and landed on Belize, after a few Trip Advisor Reviews, we landed on Casa Buena Vista. The feel of the house along with the people and pups seemed safe, with modern amenities and sounded like a perfect spot to camp for a few days.

Casa Buena Vista has all you need to have meals at home and is no more then a golf cart away from restaurants, the grocery store or even pizza (which we had twice)! We chose to do some excursions which included snorkeling (make sure to put sunscreen on your back, whoops!) as well as Ziplining on the Main Land.

If you travel in October or around that, make sure to pack on lots of bug spray. The locals told us Vicks Vapo Rub, Deet, some other island stuff and when you do get bit there is a remedy called Gumbo Limbo, it's pretty amazing! Find it in a tourist store.

Wolfgang and Eldon did a great job making sure we had a golf cart, ferry ride, excursions and any other random thing that we may need. The 2nd bathroom is getting a renovation right about now so plan on 2 good size bathrooms and bedrooms for your stay.

The bonus are Wolfgang's two great friends, Tiger and Cookie. Cookie is your companion for the trip and Tiger is just there for entertainment. The pups were a nice addition to Casa Buena Vista.

Travel Methods:

We took Tropic Ferry to Wolfgang's House and overall had a good experience. If you like the water, I would recommend this versus a public taxi as they take you directly to Wolfgang's house. Make sure to ask the question when you book if you will have to wait for others to arrive before you head to the island. We did and were surprised at our 1.5 hour wait until we took off from LadyVille.

On our excursion to the Mainland we took Mayan Islands and it was quick and easy and I believe the same price. Worth it on the excursion so you have time to relax at home.

Excursions:
Snorkeling for the day was great! Sharks, Stingray and many sea animals

Ziplining and Mayan Ruins were well worth the history and experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing