We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MOST SERENE PLACE IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the gorgeous sunsets over Grasshopper Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the gorgeous sunsets over Grasshopper Lake
Secluded, cozy, and romantic hand-crafted rustic cabin in the Ocala National Forest near Orlando Open great room with high ceilings and wood-burning stove/fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Enjoy the gorgeous sunsets over Grasshopper Lake
Secluded, cozy, and romantic hand-crafted rustic cabin in the Ocala National Forest near Orlando
Open great room with high ceilings and wood-burning stove/fireplace
Hand-crafted cedar kitchen
King-size bed with hand-crafted cedar headboard
Firepit in front of the cabin
Back porch with gas grill and firewood
Beware of attack bear!
The view from the living room
Write your novel here!
Come on in to a cozy, warm 'palace in the woods'
SIt on the porch and watch the Sand Cranes
Screened porch with comfy outdoor seating
Follow the grey/red brick road...
Large front porch for relaxing
Shaded by tall sand pines
A view of the cabin from the dock
Out the front door to an 'unpopulated' chain of lakes
Burl-wood coffee table - OK to put your feet up!
Comfortable sitting area in living room
Cypress floors, sand pine walls and ceiling
Cedar litchen with all appliances
Talavera sink in bathroom
Bathroom with full-size tub and shower
Super-comfy bed!
The view from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Astor, Lake County, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scarlett...
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MOST SERENE PLACE IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just returned from my 9th stay at Grasshopper Lake Lodge! As always, I return restored & renewed.
The peace & quiet & nature all around the cabin, just can't be beat!
My husband compares it to the float plane fly-in trip we took to Ontario 13 years ago, & we sure had to go A LOT farther and spend A LOT more $$ to get there!!

David keeps upgrading the comforts at the cabin & makes it the most welcoming & well appointed cabin in the woods!

Up each morning before dawn with the bird's song...then a hike or canoe/kayak trip....bit of fishing ( don't worry, if you don't wish to go out on the lake, the bluegill & catfish will happily visit you at the dock!
A nice lunch on the deck...then perhaps a nap...you want to be rested for the firefly show after dark...or to roast marshmallows by the fire & watch for the gray fox to visit!

We always have the BEST & most relaxing time here! We have never returned so many times to the same vacation spot! So it HAS to be VERY SPECIAL!!

Thanks, David!
We are planning our 10th visit very soon....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Thanks Scarlett! It is so rewarding to hear that Grasshopper continues to make you happy. I hope to be able to continue making it your getaway for many years to come!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“another week in my favorite place!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

one foot inside the door, and you know you have arrived in a cherished dwelling. peace is all around. watching the sunset, or the occasional kayak or fisherman cruise by on the lake is so sweet. within a couple of days you sync with natures time-clock, and rise for coffee and daybreak. after the sunset, you can hear the old wood cabin creak a little as it cools in the night air, then you know its time to get comfy for the night. The cabin has every amenity, and all in good working order. Books games movies, cards, a couple of good "old movie" channels on TV take you back in time a little. when I am here I dont think about much, when I am back at work, I think about Grasshopper lodge!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Thanks Joanne! Always good to have you back. I will continue to keep the place as pristine as possible for you. See you next year!
---> David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing secluded little cabin. The owner makes you feel like you're staying at a friends home, Stocked better than my own home, with things to do (i.e. kayak , canoe, movies, games, etc). My wife is already planning another trip to this cabin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the nice comments. Looking forward to your return to Grasshopper!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyH492
De Pere, Wi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful serenity with benefits”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We found wonderful solitude close to hiking and exploration opportunities. David designed a cabin retreat true to its rustic roots with tasteful updates and decor. Can't believe this is Florida and not the northwoods! We enjoyed relaxing on the porch or dock after our daily adventures, and enjoyed the indoors during a gentle overnight rain. We appreciate the detailed driving instructions and advice to shop for groceries before arriving. No AT&T cell coverage within several miles so call in advance with your ETA. Doris was so helpful and friendly in getting us situated and being available if needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Thanks Judy and Ron! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Grasshopper. Come back soon!
---> David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Z
Dunedin, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We sincerely thank David for this piece of heaven on earth and for even allowing this cabin to be rented. This place is absolutely beautiful and unforgettable. We had the most relaxing and peaceful vacation we have ever experienced. The lodge itself is thoughtful from end to end. Everything you could possibly want and need is there, from central air and heat, to flat-screen tvs, to a king size bed, to a full kitchen, to a gas bbq outside, to a beautiful canoe for the lake out front. Those are just a few things out of a hundred that provides luxury and everything possibly desired while staying. The surrounding nature and the area is gorgeous. The lake is simply beautiful and so clean you can see 20 feet down, and loaded with record size largemouth bass. The dock you can sit at with the table and chairs is lovely.. perfect for the divine sunsets and the glorious sunrises. I could never say enough good things about this place. We simply cannot wait to return and stay again and again, every year. The peace and serenity it allowed to enter our souls was simply a blessing. This is one of the hidden gems and best kept secrets in Florida. Thank you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Thanks Kelly! Grasshopper Lodge will be waiting for your next visit.
---> David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing