We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive & Tasty Lunch”
Review of Thai Orchid Garden

Thai Orchid Garden
Ranked #18 of 154 Restaurants in Avondale
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 May 2018

My wife, daughter, and I stopped in here the other day for a midday meal. We ordered off the lunch menu.

We selected: Yellow Curry, Krapow Chicken, and Vegetable Fried Rice. Each of the dishes came with a small bowl of soup, as well as an egg roll.

Not only was the food quite flavorful, but we were impressed with how much we got!

Each entrée was $7.95, so the entire lunch for the 3 of us, including tax, came out to only $25.95. (We didn't order any drinks.)

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhlegmMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I am picky about Thai food, and this place is really good. They are very friendly, and the service is good.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank gottagetawaysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

This is a true Thai restaurant. You need to know what to order, or have help from the waitress. We were with friends who ordered for us. We got about 8 different dishes. All were wonderful. Although, I couldn't really tell you what we ate! Wine selection is pretty slim.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NanRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Great food at a great price, close to everything. Their Tom Gai Ga soup is great! We also had their green chicken curry and the chicken larb spice level 7 - great choices!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSSzymanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Don't eat the veggies with the appetizers. My multi-veggie garnish looked more like reptile food that had been sitting under a heat lamp for a couple days. Guess what? That's basically what it was. Served on the same plate with the appetizer but you're "not supposed to eat it". That's a HEALTH VIOLATION. I asked why it didn't look fresh and both the server and later the manager confirmed that it was re-served multiple times as a decoration (mind you this wasn't a piece of food art; it was a sprig of parsley, a dozen carrot julienne strings, on a bed of chopped red cabbage -- all of which would normally be consumed when served on an appetizer plate). Who knows; Maybe they don't even change the plate.

WAY TOO SWEET. The curry dishes and pad Thai are loaded with sugar. LOADED WITH SUGAR. The manager says that's how people like it. Definitely not your standard Asian recipe.

The block color-tile walls make the place feel busy and amplify all the noise in the narrow dining area. You'll definitely get to know your neighbors unless they're silent.

It took 30 minutes to get the food and only 2 other tables were occupied. Seems they gave priority to the order-to-go customers.

No discount was offered when it was clear that I wasn't happy not being able to eat the veggies served on the appetizer plate.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Thai Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing