We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveller rating
948
712
246
101
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
712
246
101
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dupont circle jockey club anderson house phillips collection classic hotel front desk staff beautiful hotel metro station location is great per day business center two blocks white house valet parking national mall iprefer embassies
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Having stayed at average hotels in two previous US cities, we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the Fairfax during our final stop in DC. We got a very spacious king size room, which was very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly, plus there is free wifi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised by your stay with us in DC. Thank you for sharing your lovely comments and compliments for our staff, we are glad everyone was helpful. We hope to see you again soon at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

DuPont circle is a great location but the Fairfax Hotel was somewhat disappointing. The room was not ready upon check in so we were told to come back in a couple of hours or so. The room was adequate but the shower always filled up with water about ankle deep. You had to soap up with shower off to allow water to drain out. Once the water overflowed and we received a call that the room below us was flooding. They finally sent someone up to unclog the drain. I had no idea this was supposed to be a 4 or 5 star hotel. The desk workers seemed it an imposition to speak. Will stay somewhere else next year. The location of this hotel is a plus however.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We apologize that your experience with us was not completely positive and for those details that were out of place for you. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure our accommodations and services live up to our high standards. Thank you for your feedback, we do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Seemed like a solid choice, we had 5 rooms and they were all different in size and upkeep. Perhaps that's part of the charm, but then the shower was clogged in one room and the bathroom in another room. Both were fixed when asked. One room had a stench that we figured out was a leftover salad in the Fridge after two days (not ours - must've been from the prior guests), we asked front desk to have housekeeping remove it but it lingered another day until we put it out. No pool afaik and fee for wifi in rooms. It was not horrible but no reason to return either.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank welbymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

It seems we missed several opportunities to ensure your stay was perfect and for that we sincerely apologize. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our team to ensure our services are up to par with our standards. Thank you for your comments, we hope you will reconsider and give our property another chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I have to say upfront. The hotel is located in a good location and the House Keeping staff are lovely and without a doubt very helpful. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious as are the bathrooms aside from scales that never seemed to work.
My only complaint is the front desk staff are rude and treat you as if you are interrupting their day by asking a question of them
A little education in understanding that the customer is actually keeping you in a job would be very helpful to them I feel

Room Tip: Don't expect to get a smile from front Desk Attendants
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardandnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

While we were happy to read that your accommodations, as well as our housekeeping staff, impressed you, we deeply regret, that you didn’t receive that warm welcome from our front desk team. Rest assured that your comments will be addressed to ensure we are providing the utmost in care. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

The Fairfax is a very nice hotel, that is well located with a very attentive staff.

Our two adjoining rooms were perfect for our party of seven. While they do not offer room service I was able to get some acceptable dining choices at the bar.

I'd definitely consider another stay at The Fairfax!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you, Paul, for sharing your positive experience with us. We are just thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our staff’s attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews