We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
432
140
36
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
140
36
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dubliner restaurant union station postal museum irish pub next door great location capitol hill corner bakery circulator bus free coffee and tea supreme court within walking distance comfortable bed rooms are small an older hotel street noise staff was very friendly and helpful national mall
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit to DC, situated on Capital Hill from the front of the hotel to the right, views of the Capital building and to the left Smithsonian & grand station. Style of the 1920s with a very contemporary twist, very nice combination. Room was very clean, well appointed / equipped if a bit on the small side, but to be expected for such a central location. Staff were very helpful & friendly, service was great. Adjacent Dubliner Irish bar was a real asset, with great atmosphere.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank wlj901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So happy to hear your visit to Washington and the hotel was so successful and that you found our location ideal and the hotel so comfortable. All the team at the Phoenix Park and the Dubliner join me in thanking you for your business.

David Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A stopover served its purpose. Staff friendly breakfast in the attached bar was good value and staff ultra friendly. Room was a bit dark short of serious windows. I maybe being a little harsh but from my own experience overall it was average.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TearsofRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Very pleased to have had you with us and happy to hear that our staff was so helpful and friendly - I hope you might return on a future visit and discover we are more than average. Thank you again.

David Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was the preferred block pricing for a conference I was attending in DC. I have never heard of it before but it is a gem. Convenienly located near Union Station, the Capitol, and Georgetown University. The 15-min cab ride from DCA is less than $20. Complimentary coffee and specialty coffee drinks (cappucionos, espresso, lattes) is a nice touch. Standard rooms are small - the hotel was opened in 1922 - but modern and clean. Front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the area. No restaurant on site but The Dubliner is attached to the hotel. Great Irish food and drink. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - mine lookied out on the alley but you can have views of historic DC buildings if you ask.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased to have had you with us and delighted that you found our location ideal and the hotel so comfortable. We thank you for your business.

David Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone associated with the Phoenix Park were wonderful. The room was tiny and could have been cleaned better. Location perfect. Safe short walk to Union Station and others in the heart of Washington.
For sure use valet parking.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ClintTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so your visit and sharing your comments. Our rooms are not large as we often state here but our housekeeping quality has always been excellent and I am sorry you did not find it so in this case. If you can share directly with me the specifics I would be most grateful so that I can follow up directly. We thank you for your business.

David Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

An affordable three star hotel with a comfortable mattress. Decor is nice. The location is ok. A short Uber ride from monuments, but the windows were facing an alley way. While there is a cafe within walking distance, I wouldn’t recommend going there. Some great places only about a 5-10 minute drive away. Small rooms, but considering the price I had no problems with that.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank NedaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and pleased you enjoyed your stay.

David Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews