We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient and comfortable with style”
other travellers have booked this property
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed
Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Bright & Beautiful Living Room on Second Floor
Bright Kitchen
W&D in Closet & Full Size Refrigerator
Bright Bathroom on 2nd Floor
Relax on the rear deck overlooking the flagstone patio and garden
Fedex and Starbucks are just around the corner!
Marine Commandant's House is only 3 blocks away!
The circulator bus is a great way to get around town.
Union Station is only a 15 minute walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
owlette1
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable with style”
Reviewed 14 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a 4 night stay on the top floor of this house. The apartment is tastefully decorated with a fully-equipped gorgeous kitchen. An organic grocery is a few minutes away. The metro stop is within a half block. Many restaurants and shops are nearby on 8th S E Street . Kirk, the landlord, was very prompt in answering my emails. He even picked us up at the train station when we arrived. My husband and I hope to stay here again. This apartment exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, security, comfort, style
Liked least: clothes dryer took a look time
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
traveling...
boulder co
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Practically perfect”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the first floor unit, which has been lovingly restored with high quality appliances, fixtures, and furniture. The kitchen was well equipped. I loved the back porch with ceiling fan and the private back yard. The unit was clean and comfortable and only steps away from the Eastern Market Metro stop. The location can't be beat--an easy walk to the Capitol. I loved the vibe in the Eastern Market area--lots of markets, restaurants and shops. I enjoyed my stay very much, and I hope to stay there again any time I'm in D.C.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SanFranci...
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, beautifully remodeled suite, highly recommend”
Reviewed 27 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed in the second floor suite for a weekend. The suite has been beautifully remodeled with a fully outfitted kitchen (high end stove, dishwasher, refrig, granite counters, high quality cookware, etc), pretty bathroom with shower and tub, airy living room, comfortable bed/bedroom, and lovely relaxing patio with full furnishings. Quick note--if you have trouble with stairs, you may wish to ask for a lower floor unit. The second floor is not hard to reach but there is no elevator. Kirk and Lisa were extremely helpful in advance and during our stay. They even moved/held our luggage for us after check out. The location is terrific--less than 5' from the orange/blue Metro line where you will also find rental bikes, a few short blocks to the Eastern market full of fresh produce, great bakery Pain Quotidian a block away (best for baked good, not great for meals), and nice restaurants in walking distance. We alternated taking the Metro to the mall (3-5 stops, 5-10 minutes), biking (15' ride), and walking (very pleasant along Pennsylvania Ave). The neighborhood felt very safe and was full of families with young children. I am a very light sleeper and was very happy with how quiet it was at night (not usual for DC, especially in a convenient location). We wish we could have stayed longer! Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, high end remodel (nothing cheap or cheesy)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing