We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,745)
Filter reviews
8,745 results
Traveller rating
3,257
3,487
1,183
487
331
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,257
3,487
1,183
487
331
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar pizza fish italian restaurant cigar lounge water shoes chicken a la carte restaurants fries two weeks hot dogs sand fleas great holiday water ballet animation team plastic cups cigar factory
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 8,745 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2019

We spent two weeks here in May 2019. The hotel was fairly quiet so there were no queues, no need to 'reserve' sunbeds, and the beach activities were pretty much on demand. The temperatures were up in the late 20's and apparently there had been no rain for three months so the grounds were looking very brown but we had a run of wonderful electrical storms in the late afternoons lasting about an hour and within a week the beautifully kept gardens came to life.
Overall the hotel furnishings and decor are very tired and require refurbishment but they are all kept very clean with daily room cleaning. The beach facilities are very good with a bar and modern toilet facilities kept well stocked and cleaned.
The staff in all areas were friendly and enthusiastic - nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they made the stay a memorable experience.
The only real irritation was that they kept running out of glasses and didn't have any beer glasses at all. I drew the line at being served beer in a sherry glass and went plastic.
There are four restaurants, the main buffet, and three themed restaurants that are bookable once a week at no additional charge. The buffet had a good and varied selection of foods and the other three added further variety with the Japanese restaurant serving teppanyaki.
Outside of the hotel we did a local tour in a horse and trap but there wasn't much to see and did a trip to Holguin in a 1953 Chevvy which was interesting.
We thoroughly enjoyed this stay,

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexeiremedio, Director Comercial at Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Dear Michael
Hotel Playa Costa Verde´s management appreciated very well your comments on the Tripadvisor. We love your good comments about your stay we take note about the rest of comments; we will study them, because for us guest´s feedbacks are so important to improve our service. Thank you very much again; we are looking forward to see you in your next visit to Cuba.
Regards
Playa Costa Verde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from this hotel and had a great time the staff are friendly the drinks are excellent the hotel is a bit dated but its not a deal breaker.
The rooms look good on the photos but are far from great, on arrival at our room there was a strong smell of stale urine and it was clearly coming from the bed. On a night we had to turn the fridge off to get some sleep as it was very noisy the wardrobe had sliding doors that fell off the tracks when pushed so had to be careful.
The pool is great in spots needs a bit of TLC as I have earlier said its not a real problem the beach is great but does have sand fleas so a bite or 2 may occur.
Now the big problems the food in this place has to be the worst I have come across in any hotel ever, its cold when put out very poorly presented very repetitive every day undercooked and some of it is a health hazard. you should not have blood running from pork or chicken and the other day just before we came home they were serving a joint off beef that was way undercooked and was also bleeding when cut. The salad food was in abundance everyday mostly the same stuff brought back out.
The fresh cook stations had queue's that long it took forever to get served and that was breakfast dinner and tea,
And for all us Brits that just can't wait for a portion off sprouts for your breakfast don't worry they are there waiting just next to the fried bananas,
No sausage bacon or fried eggs but hey what Brit or Canadian eats them at breakfast time. maybe I'm being a bit sarcastic there but its an opinion that many other holiday makers have and this is clearly proved by how busy the snack bar gets at eating times as the snack bar food was quite good at what it served.
There is a Facebook page for this hotel run by a couple of die hard fans that I joined prior to going and when I put on a few comments about the food they blocked me,
This is a genuine report on my findings of the hotel we had a good time. If the management team sort out the kitchen side of this place it will remain a very good place to stay but as it stands I have stopped in the hotels on either side of it and in my opinion they are both a better bet to stay at.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank theoldcodgers080859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexeiremedio, Director Comercial at Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Dear
On behalf of Playa Costa Verde Hotel staff and management team, I want to express our apologies for any inconveniences you might have had during your stay with us. We are really sorry you have this opinion about our Resort, however we don´t share your point of view. As any hotel in the world, we receive several inspections from the national institutions related with Health and Safety and also those carried out by the tour operators from different countries. We, staff and management, put a lot of our effort to make all our guests enjoy their holidays with us. We fully understand and respect that everyone has his own approach and point of view regarding the hotel services. On the other hand it is really complicated for us to explain to our staff a situation where, one after other, different people has a radical difference in their evaluation about a same thing. In any case your comments will help us to recheck our procedures regarding food and beverage. We would be honoured if you decide to return to our resort.
Regards
Playa Costa Verde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019

absolute fantastic hotel lovely staff so friendly and genuinely want to look after you very spacious areas well kept gardens and a short walk through the gardens to a beautiful sandy beach with plenty of sun beds and free towels changed every day as so are the hotels super super kings beds. The only problem is the mosquitos they bite like mad so plenty of protection which you can buy in the hotel shop and is stronger. There are 3 restaurant's which you can dine in only once a week the buffet restaurant has plenty of choice and better quality. Overall fantastic value for your money we will be returning.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank sunworshiper345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YanetDR, Sales Executive at Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2019

Greetings sunworshiper345

Thank you very much for your review. Great to read you will be back again, thank you very much! Please, email us your requests for your next visit to our hotel, we will be delighted in looking after them.

Kind regards,
Playa Costa Verde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Room was huge cleanliness was second to none. Plenty of choices for food, and plentiful. 3 restaurants available within the all inclusive range. Was able to arrange 2/3 day trip to Havana & Santiago de Cuba brilliant time. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank suzyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YanetDR, Sales Executive at Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

Greetings suzyst,

Thank you very much for your review, it is wonderful to read you have had a very enjoyable time with us. We are glad you came to celebrate your honeymoon, and that you enjoyed the excursions
Great to read you will be back again, thank you very much! Please, email us your requests for your next visit to our hotel, we will be delighted in looking after them.

Kind regards,
Playa Costa Verde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

We just came back from Playa Costa Verde. It was our forth trip to this amazing place and it was our best vacation so far!
Even we came to the hotel in the low season there was nothing missing - the food was good, the staff was amazing - as always! The beach was brilliant, the pools are big (and the water was warm). Our room was big, spacious and clean - the room maid was great (our child was so happy with the daily bed decoration).
A lot of admiration to the entertainment team - they are the soul of the hotel. Our boy loved the mini disco. We like the evening shows. They also organise a lot of daily activities.
You are able to book excursions as well - by Thomas Cook or by a local travel agent - Swim with the dolphins trip to Cayo Naranjo; Paradise island; Countryside trip; a Visit to Bariay (Christopher Columbus monument and the Indian village); you can visit Santiago de Cuba, Havana (by a plane), Holguin, Guardalavaca and the small towns around the hotel.
Will we come back to our "home away from home" again? Of course!

Room tip: All the rooms are big and spacious
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VickyS2961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YanetDR, Sales Executive at Playa Costa Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Dear VickyS2961:

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us . It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.
We are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we will congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your holidays with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, yours
Playa Costa Verde Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews