We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Waivino Wine Tours
from US$129.03
More Info
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour passage rock boutique wineries great tour peacock sky vineyard grant host waiheke lunch tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I had a fabulous wine tour experience with Waivino a few days ago. Even though I'm a local Aucklander, I don't visit Waiheke often - I'm really pleased I did.

I had friends visiting from Melbourne and Waivino was a perfect wine tour to show off the best that Waiheke has to offer. We visited 4 lovely vineyards - Obsidian, Man O'War, Passage Rock and Te Motu (make sure you have lunch here. Waivino's transportation is modern, clean and I enjoyed the commentary as we were shown some of the best of what Waiheke has to offer.

Highly recommended if you need a day trip from Auckland or staying longer :)

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Snikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thanks so much. I real appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. I have been very slow in responding, but I am grateful as I am not a huge company and it is all about the personalised experience. If the weather plays the game too, it makes things easier. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Our guide Grant had picked us up at Matiatia ferry terminal when we were left with no transport due to the adverse weather and arriving late on the island. Grant was extremely pleasant and accommodated to our schedules, promptly sending us to our hotel before the day ended. He brought us around the island the follow day with prior arrangements and during our tour, introduced us to a brief history of the island and its scenic spots. We enjoyed the 2.5 hour trip around the island, stopping by some beautiful peaks and beaches for photo taking. Grant is very knowledgeable as well and my family and I were very pleased to have him as our guide on Waiheke island. Recommended on your next visit to Waiheke!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Susan_Boon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

I have been so involved with stuff that I haven't taken time to write back to people who have generously taken time to write a review. I know once people return to their busy lives in the real world, it is so easy to forget to do so. You have a lovely family and it was a joy to introduce you to Waiheke Island. We didn't have enough time to explore everything so shall we say to be continued…? Thanks again. Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Grant was a grest host showing us around Waiheke Island. He is relaxed and flexible allowing you to design your day. As a local, he is well versed with the lay of the land and the very best wineries to visit. We felt warm and welcomed by all. Thank you Grant for a great day. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Nicci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks Nicci. Glad you enjoyed the day.

Cheers

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

What to say other than Grant is an awesome tour guide!!!!

My friend and I were lucky enough to have the tour all to ourselves. And because of this Grant was able to accommodate and be flexible and make it all work great. We did not feel rushed at all and actually got to enjoy the wines the views and the company. Grant took us around the island and showed us many sights which I feel the larger companies wouldn't even think to take you to.
We visited 3 wineries in total and had a beautiful lunch at the Cove.
Charity who helped us with our tasting at Passage Rock was the cherry on the day. Between her and Grant my friend and I didn't want to leave.
Even though we are not huge wine drinkers we appreciated learning about the island itself and been shown around by someone who actually lives on the island.
The wineries Grant selected were Man O War, Passage Rock, and Te Motu
Absolutely beautiful place and had great yarns with Grant the whole time!!

Definitely recommending to anyone that will listen.
So accommodating and patient haha

Thank you again Grant for a fantastic day. Will see you again one day.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

For "not huge wine drinkers" you were pretty impressive. Charity thought you were hilarious. That was an awesome day. Thanks for the review. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had planned to do some wine tasting and enjoy a nice lunch on Waiheke Island. We had seen the bus tours but that wasn't for us. So we intended to grab a taxi and just head to one of the well known wineries.
Luck intervened and Grant Kidd from Waivino Wine Tours called to us did we need a lift.
We told him what we wanted to do but wouldn't mind a quick drive to see a little more of this beautiful island. He suggested he take us to Obsidian Winery for some tasting ( very good experience) and he also drove us past some beautiful bays and beaches and explained the history of the island . He suggested Casita Miro for lunch and he rang and booked us in. After a wonderful long lunch he collected us and then drove us via some other wineries before dropping us back the the ferry, A great day spent with an interesting chap who is much more than a tour guide.
His brand new Ford Transporter Shuttle is comfortable and ideal for a small group who might want to do some wineries and lunch.
I would recommend anyone planning a day on Waiheke Island that you contact Grant to make it a very special day.
He even organized a celebrity spotting of Ritchie McCaw!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank SkibunnyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

It was destiny that intervened. Some of the best days are the spontaneous ones although once the high season kicks in bookings are essential despite the greatest efforts from my friends around the island it is a maths thing. Especially since half the world wants to come here in summer. Yikes. Thanks (belatedly) for your review. I most certainly appreciate it. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews