We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Waivino Wine Tours
from US$129.03
More Info
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour passage rock boutique wineries great tour peacock sky vineyard grant host waiheke lunch tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Grant was a grest host showing us around Waiheke Island. He is relaxed and flexible allowing you to design your day. As a local, he is well versed with the lay of the land and the very best wineries to visit. We felt warm and welcomed by all. Thank you Grant for a great day. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Nicci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks Nicci. Glad you enjoyed the day.

Cheers

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

What to say other than Grant is an awesome tour guide!!!!

My friend and I were lucky enough to have the tour all to ourselves. And because of this Grant was able to accommodate and be flexible and make it all work great. We did not feel rushed at all and actually got to enjoy the wines the views and the company. Grant took us around the island and showed us many sights which I feel the larger companies wouldn't even think to take you to.
We visited 3 wineries in total and had a beautiful lunch at the Cove.
Charity who helped us with our tasting at Passage Rock was the cherry on the day. Between her and Grant my friend and I didn't want to leave.
Even though we are not huge wine drinkers we appreciated learning about the island itself and been shown around by someone who actually lives on the island.
The wineries Grant selected were Man O War, Passage Rock, and Te Motu
Absolutely beautiful place and had great yarns with Grant the whole time!!

Definitely recommending to anyone that will listen.
So accommodating and patient haha

Thank you again Grant for a fantastic day. Will see you again one day.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

For "not huge wine drinkers" you were pretty impressive. Charity thought you were hilarious. That was an awesome day. Thanks for the review. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had planned to do some wine tasting and enjoy a nice lunch on Waiheke Island. We had seen the bus tours but that wasn't for us. So we intended to grab a taxi and just head to one of the well known wineries.
Luck intervened and Grant Kidd from Waivino Wine Tours called to us did we need a lift.
We told him what we wanted to do but wouldn't mind a quick drive to see a little more of this beautiful island. He suggested he take us to Obsidian Winery for some tasting ( very good experience) and he also drove us past some beautiful bays and beaches and explained the history of the island . He suggested Casita Miro for lunch and he rang and booked us in. After a wonderful long lunch he collected us and then drove us via some other wineries before dropping us back the the ferry, A great day spent with an interesting chap who is much more than a tour guide.
His brand new Ford Transporter Shuttle is comfortable and ideal for a small group who might want to do some wineries and lunch.
I would recommend anyone planning a day on Waiheke Island that you contact Grant to make it a very special day.
He even organized a celebrity spotting of Ritchie McCaw!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank SkibunnyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

It was destiny that intervened. Some of the best days are the spontaneous ones although once the high season kicks in bookings are essential despite the greatest efforts from my friends around the island it is a maths thing. Especially since half the world wants to come here in summer. Yikes. Thanks (belatedly) for your review. I most certainly appreciate it. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Our first time to New Zealand and we wanted more than just a wine tour - so glad we picked Waivino! We were able to get a personal tour of almost half of the island along the three vineyards we visited. Grant Kidd is very accommodating and his knowledge of the island really added to the tour. Grant also took us to Charlie Farley's for lunch so we could sample the best ginger beer I've ever tasted. Many stops, many good pix, and great New Zealand wine.

Grant just upgraded to a brand new van that can handle small groups very comfortably. We'll be coming to Waiheke in the fall and plan on using Waivino again!!!!!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Chris BD I l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hey Guys. I had one of the Charlies Ginger beers yesterday. It is properly brewed and can't be stored out of the fridge. I prefer it with no ice. Awesome. Thanks for the review. Its been almost 5 months and fall is coming up for you so hope to see you soon. Heaps more to do and see. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

My husband and I have traveled internationally on a small cruise ship (Azamara), small group tours and trips that we planned on our own both in the US and internationally. My husband is motor disabled (uses
a cane and has difficulty walking stairs and moving his legs at a normal pace) and he is hearing impaired (sensory-neural loss so sounds he hears are often muffled and hard to understand even with hearing aids). I was worried that Gary would not understand our private tour guide for Waiheke Island, Grant Kidd of Waivino Tours. Grant’s voice was understandable because he spoke clearly and with good pacing so headsets were not needed. He drove a comfortable van that was easy for my husband to enter and exit and he adjusted the pacing of the trip so my husband could enjoy all the planned activities without getting too fatigued. Grant listened to what our goals were for our tour of Waiheke Island and he far exceeded our expectations. We not only went to two wineries, tasted outstanding wines and had a delicious lunch, Grant took us to a brewery for a tasting and located a polo shirt that we were looking for as a souvenir!

Grant was one of the best tour guides we had in all our travels. In addition to being charming as well as friendly, he greeted us at the ferry on time. He was observant of our needs knew when we needed to take a break or adjust the tour schedule to meet our needs. The most important characteristic of Grant was his ability to share his knowledge of the wineries, beaches, history and geography of Waiheke in an engaging and entertaining manner that made the island come alive during our tour! Grant had a good sense of timing as he added humor at just the right moment and provided anecdotes about his experiences. We definitely recommend Grant Kidd at Waivino Tours as a guide for Waiheke Island

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews