We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!”
Review of Waivino Wine Tours

Waivino Wine Tours
Ranked #5 of 24 Tours in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Waivino Tours offers a personalised authentic connection with Waiheke Island. An interesting and enjoyable perspective on what is now one of the most talked about destinations in the world. Quality transport, local professional tour guides with insight and the ability to help you find your unique Waiheke experience. We have great relationships with the best of the best wineries and eateries. From 90 minute scenic tours to 4 hour wine tours with small groups of up to 10 people, you will have a fantastic time on waiheke.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Our first time to New Zealand and we wanted more than just a wine tour - so glad we picked Waivino! We were able to get a personal tour of almost half of the island along the three vineyards we visited. Grant Kidd is very accommodating and his knowledge of the island really added to the tour. Grant also took us to Charlie Farley's for lunch so we could sample the best ginger beer I've ever tasted. Many stops, many good pix, and great New Zealand wine.

Grant just upgraded to a brand new van that can handle small groups very comfortably. We'll be coming to Waiheke in the fall and plan on using Waivino again!!!!!

Thank Chris BD I l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hey Guys. I had one of the Charlies Ginger beers yesterday. It is properly brewed and can't be stored out of the fridge. I prefer it with no ice. Awesome. Thanks for the review. Its been almost 5 months and fall is coming up for you so hope to see you soon. Heaps more to do and see. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2016

My husband and I have traveled internationally on a small cruise ship (Azamara), small group tours and trips that we planned on our own both in the US and internationally. My husband is motor disabled (uses
a cane and has difficulty walking stairs and moving his legs at a normal pace) and he is hearing impaired (sensory-neural loss so sounds he hears are often muffled and hard to understand even with hearing aids). I was worried that Gary would not understand our private tour guide for Waiheke Island, Grant Kidd of Waivino Tours. Grant’s voice was understandable because he spoke clearly and with good pacing so headsets were not needed. He drove a comfortable van that was easy for my husband to enter and exit and he adjusted the pacing of the trip so my husband could enjoy all the planned activities without getting too fatigued. Grant listened to what our goals were for our tour of Waiheke Island and he far exceeded our expectations. We not only went to two wineries, tasted outstanding wines and had a delicious lunch, Grant took us to a brewery for a tasting and located a polo shirt that we were looking for as a souvenir!

Grant was one of the best tour guides we had in all our travels. In addition to being charming as well as friendly, he greeted us at the ferry on time. He was observant of our needs knew when we needed to take a break or adjust the tour schedule to meet our needs. The most important characteristic of Grant was his ability to share his knowledge of the wineries, beaches, history and geography of Waiheke in an engaging and entertaining manner that made the island come alive during our tour! Grant had a good sense of timing as he added humor at just the right moment and provided anecdotes about his experiences. We definitely recommend Grant Kidd at Waivino Tours as a guide for Waiheke Island

Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend this tour around Waiheke. Grant Kidd is the perfect guide. He's friendly, knowledgeable, and customized the stops on the island so we could accommodate lunch reservations at a vineyard. You can't go wrong with Grant!

1  Thank Anuradha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Went to Waiheke for a day trip with a group of girls. We all worked in hospo in Auckland so love our wine. Grant was very flexible. He helped us organise the ferry and he organised all the winerys. When he realised we were all supply man o' war he organised a tasting for Us despite it being on the far side of the island! And yes we all bought a bottle! He dropped us off at cable bay and left us to enjoy a delicious meal with an insane view at the end and picked us up again after to take us to the ferry on time. Great was a knowledgeable, fun, friendly, relaxed and flexible host. I would highly recommend taking a Tour with waivino!

Thank Heatherreid1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Can you believe summer is just around the corner again. You will have to come and check out my new Vinovagon. Thanks for your review. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Had a wonderful time with Grant as our host. The vineyards we visited were fantastic and Grant was a lot of fun! Highly recommend a truly authentic, relaxed and fun experience with Grant.

Thanks Grant and we'll be back after Xmas to experience some other vineyards!

Thank Charm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hey Guys. Wai the Heke haven't I seen you guys lately. You guys schooled me on my pronunciation of Te Reo right? I will never forget that. It's almost time for Christmas shopping again. Hope to see you soon. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waivino Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Waivino Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing