We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Waivino Wine Tours
from US$129.54
More Info
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour passage rock boutique wineries great tour peacock sky vineyard grant host waiheke lunch tasting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2016

My husband and I have traveled internationally on a small cruise ship (Azamara), small group tours and trips that we planned on our own both in the US and internationally. My husband is motor disabled (uses
a cane and has difficulty walking stairs and moving his legs at a normal pace) and he is hearing impaired (sensory-neural loss so sounds he hears are often muffled and hard to understand even with hearing aids). I was worried that Gary would not understand our private tour guide for Waiheke Island, Grant Kidd of Waivino Tours. Grant’s voice was understandable because he spoke clearly and with good pacing so headsets were not needed. He drove a comfortable van that was easy for my husband to enter and exit and he adjusted the pacing of the trip so my husband could enjoy all the planned activities without getting too fatigued. Grant listened to what our goals were for our tour of Waiheke Island and he far exceeded our expectations. We not only went to two wineries, tasted outstanding wines and had a delicious lunch, Grant took us to a brewery for a tasting and located a polo shirt that we were looking for as a souvenir!

Grant was one of the best tour guides we had in all our travels. In addition to being charming as well as friendly, he greeted us at the ferry on time. He was observant of our needs knew when we needed to take a break or adjust the tour schedule to meet our needs. The most important characteristic of Grant was his ability to share his knowledge of the wineries, beaches, history and geography of Waiheke in an engaging and entertaining manner that made the island come alive during our tour! Grant had a good sense of timing as he added humor at just the right moment and provided anecdotes about his experiences. We definitely recommend Grant Kidd at Waivino Tours as a guide for Waiheke Island

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend this tour around Waiheke. Grant Kidd is the perfect guide. He's friendly, knowledgeable, and customized the stops on the island so we could accommodate lunch reservations at a vineyard. You can't go wrong with Grant!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank Anuradha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Went to Waiheke for a day trip with a group of girls. We all worked in hospo in Auckland so love our wine. Grant was very flexible. He helped us organise the ferry and he organised all the winerys. When he realised we were all supply man o' war he organised a tasting for Us despite it being on the far side of the island! And yes we all bought a bottle! He dropped us off at cable bay and left us to enjoy a delicious meal with an insane view at the end and picked us up again after to take us to the ferry on time. Great was a knowledgeable, fun, friendly, relaxed and flexible host. I would highly recommend taking a Tour with waivino!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Can you believe summer is just around the corner again. You will have to come and check out my new Vinovagon. Thanks for your review. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Had a wonderful time with Grant as our host. The vineyards we visited were fantastic and Grant was a lot of fun! Highly recommend a truly authentic, relaxed and fun experience with Grant.

Thanks Grant and we'll be back after Xmas to experience some other vineyards!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Charm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waivino T, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hey Guys. Wai the Heke haven't I seen you guys lately. You guys schooled me on my pronunciation of Te Reo right? I will never forget that. It's almost time for Christmas shopping again. Hope to see you soon. Cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

We were well looked after, Hassan informative tour and visited a number of vineyards. We had a great time. The wine choices on Waiheke are fantastic - highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews