We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
amcscs
Auckland, New Zealand

Ideal Island Escape

Review of Marino Ridge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Dec 2020
For my wife's birthday we escaped with good friends to the haven of tranquillity that is Marino Ridge. Hosts Peter and Caroline have welcome pampering down to a fine art. The attention to detail is unsurpassed from the original choice of the location to build the lodge with its privacy and breathtaking views to its understated luxury and facilities. Everything is done to the highest standard whether it is the wine and canapes in the evening to the exquisite multi course breakfasts, the 3 course evening meal one night drawing on their experience and love of living in Italy to the quality of the massage service. Everything was faultless. Caroline and Peter are wonderful hosts who combine many talents with a passion for ensuring guests enjoy a luxurious experience enhanced by genuinely warm Kiwi hospitality. We will definitely be back.
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,287
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $237
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
6.8 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Strand Apartment living area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $264
  • Hotels.com
8.4 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Units, some with sea views.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Shared Pool and deck
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $241
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two Bedroom Villas View from Living Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,212
  • Booking.com
10.3 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caring hosts place to stay private balcony caroline nz coromandel views lodge perfection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2020

What a magnificent experience - arrived stressed from all that 2020 has thrown at us and left after a three night stay totally relaxed.
Was it the spectacular view? The beautiful amenities and accommodation? Your very own balcony overlooking the bush and harbor? Lounging by the pool watching the boats in Owhanake bay jockying for a good spot?
Well, yes all of that sure is great but what sets this luxury accommodation apart is the service. Unobtrusive yet attentive. Pete and Caroline have achieved the perfect balance in making you feel very special and ensuring your every need is looked after. Many thanks guys.

Room tip: The Coromandel room offers bush and water views
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mitchelinstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed 2 wonderful nights here and absolutely loved every minute! We arrived via helicopter right onto the lawn overlooking the pool! Our room was spacious and clean - with many little extras! Such as water, chocolates, nibbles and licorice all-sorts! These were all replenished throughout the day! Caroline and Peter are exceptional hosts and welcomed us unreservedly into their home. Canapés and evening drinks were a highlight and we had a wonderful time - we feel like part of the family! Fabio and Libby took us for a wonderful walk around the peninsula which has the most amazing views over the Hauraki Gulf. It’s the little things that make the difference - and Merino Ridge wouldn’t be complete without Peter, Caroline, Fabio and Libby! From superb breakfasts in the morning, or a little rose by the pool, to heartwarming laughter into the wee hours of the night! This place is like no other! And we will be back as friends and guests too! Thank you so much for your hospitality, generosity and for allowing us to share your magical slice of paradise!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SueMeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

We spent a night here in July are and really pleased we treated ourselves. Caroline and Peter were focused on making sure our stay was enjoyable and it was lovely to have that personal touch. The property is wonderful and there’s some beautiful walking tracks nearby.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TopPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We have just spent 2 amazing nights at Marino Ridge. From the moment we entered through the gates of the up-market community, we could tell we were in for an wonderful experience. Sitting high on a ridge with outstanding views all around and no neighbours in sight, Marino Ridge is a large, sophisticated luxury home. As you enter via a path decorated with colourful, flowering hibiscus, the pool and spa is off to your left and the private guest-wing accommodation consisting of 2 large bedrooms, each with its own ensuite and fabulous views is off to the right. The entire property is decorated in a style of under-stated elegance with careful attention to every detail which makes for a relaxed and calming atmosphere. The hosts and owners, Caroline and Peter, are such lovely and generous people. They have travelled extensively and happily anticipate and cater to theirs guests’ needs.. And I mustn’t forget to mention Fabio and Libby, 2 well-behaved dogs who certainly won this heart of a non dog-lover!
During these Covid times, and any other time, a re-charge stay in this luxury B &B is highly recommended. A 30-minute ferry ride from Auckland and pick-uo and drop-off by the hosts certainly beats the hassle and cost of a flight somewhere. Thank you Caroline and Peter for such an exceptional experience!

Date of stay: June 2020
Thank annette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Marino Ridge and our time with Caroline, Peter and the dogs. Close to the ferry, Peter picked us up, showed us our accommodation, gave us drinks and sat down with us to help us plan our time. Each recommendation - from restaurants to scenic drives- was spot on, and they made several arrangements for us themselves. They also accommodated a slightly early breakfast for us when one outing changed timing. No detail was missed; they even left us a cute screen cleaning cloth, perhaps noticing the messy state of my eyeglasses and IPad screen, or perhaps just being thoughtful people.

I do agree with the comment about considering adding a door or screen between the bedroom and toilet area (we stayed in the lower room with a private entrance). Others might not be bothered.

We look forward to returning; we had to depart a day early because the country in which we live was closing all air traffic so we had to return precipitously. (Even that short notice change was managed efficiently and gracefully.) Just before we left we walked down the little cove - so peaceful.

In summary, a beautiful, warm and wonderful experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews