We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SueMeal
Hamilton, New Zealand

Truly Magical

Review of Marino Ridge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Oct 2020via mobile
We stayed 2 wonderful nights here and absolutely loved every minute! We arrived via helicopter right onto the lawn overlooking the pool! Our room was spacious and clean - with many little extras! Such as water, chocolates, nibbles and licorice all-sorts! These were all replenished throughout the day! Caroline and Peter are exceptional hosts and welcomed us unreservedly into their home. Canapés and evening drinks were a highlight and we had a wonderful time - we feel like part of the family! Fabio and Libby took us for a wonderful walk around the peninsula which has the most amazing views over the Hauraki Gulf. It’s the little things that make the difference - and Merino Ridge wouldn’t be complete without Peter, Caroline, Fabio and Libby! From superb breakfasts in the morning, or a little rose by the pool, to heartwarming laughter into the wee hours of the night! This place is like no other! And we will be back as friends and guests too! Thank you so much for your hospitality, generosity and for allowing us to share your magical slice of paradise!
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$295
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $155
  • Official Site
    $155
3.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boatsheds
$198
  • eDreams
    $198
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Shared Pool and deck
$260
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Tripadvisor
    $220
6.2 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two Bedroom Villas View from Living Room
$179
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $161
5.3 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
7.5 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,346
  • Expedia.com
    $1,499
  • Hotels.com
    $1,499
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    $250
  • Expedia.com
2.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $276
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Units, some with sea views.
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $167
  • Priceline
5.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caring hosts place to stay private balcony caroline nz coromandel views lodge perfection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

We spent a night here in July are and really pleased we treated ourselves. Caroline and Peter were focused on making sure our stay was enjoyable and it was lovely to have that personal touch. The property is wonderful and there’s some beautiful walking tracks nearby.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TopPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We have just spent 2 amazing nights at Marino Ridge. From the moment we entered through the gates of the up-market community, we could tell we were in for an wonderful experience. Sitting high on a ridge with outstanding views all around and no neighbours in sight, Marino Ridge is a large, sophisticated luxury home. As you enter via a path decorated with colourful, flowering hibiscus, the pool and spa is off to your left and the private guest-wing accommodation consisting of 2 large bedrooms, each with its own ensuite and fabulous views is off to the right. The entire property is decorated in a style of under-stated elegance with careful attention to every detail which makes for a relaxed and calming atmosphere. The hosts and owners, Caroline and Peter, are such lovely and generous people. They have travelled extensively and happily anticipate and cater to theirs guests’ needs.. And I mustn’t forget to mention Fabio and Libby, 2 well-behaved dogs who certainly won this heart of a non dog-lover!
During these Covid times, and any other time, a re-charge stay in this luxury B &B is highly recommended. A 30-minute ferry ride from Auckland and pick-uo and drop-off by the hosts certainly beats the hassle and cost of a flight somewhere. Thank you Caroline and Peter for such an exceptional experience!

Date of stay: June 2020
Thank annette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Marino Ridge and our time with Caroline, Peter and the dogs. Close to the ferry, Peter picked us up, showed us our accommodation, gave us drinks and sat down with us to help us plan our time. Each recommendation - from restaurants to scenic drives- was spot on, and they made several arrangements for us themselves. They also accommodated a slightly early breakfast for us when one outing changed timing. No detail was missed; they even left us a cute screen cleaning cloth, perhaps noticing the messy state of my eyeglasses and IPad screen, or perhaps just being thoughtful people.

I do agree with the comment about considering adding a door or screen between the bedroom and toilet area (we stayed in the lower room with a private entrance). Others might not be bothered.

We look forward to returning; we had to depart a day early because the country in which we live was closing all air traffic so we had to return precipitously. (Even that short notice change was managed efficiently and gracefully.) Just before we left we walked down the little cove - so peaceful.

In summary, a beautiful, warm and wonderful experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

We have just left 4 glorious days at Marino Ridge waheike, the view from our room was beyond amazing.
Caroline and Peter looked after us so beautifully. Their 2 poodles Libby and Fabio just made the trip even more special.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank iandsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019

As mentioned in my earlier review of a B&B in Te Anau, my traveling companion/wife and I generally prefer the privacy of a proper hotel or lodge instead of a B&B. But we made an exception on Waiheke, and are glad we did. Although the TripAdvisor blurb describes it as a "hotel," the reviews make clear that it's a private home with two en suite bedrooms on the main floor, and one below which has a private entrance. The hosts are informative about the best walks, wineries and restaurants. Take their advice about renting a car for a drive around the island. The lap pool had awesome views and was proper length for swimming along with a hot tub for warming up. The contemporary architecture of the house was stunning as was the decorating and furnishings. Truly a luxury home. Guests who love poodles are in for a treat. Location is ideal -- a short drive to ferry, but in secluded residential area with little traffic; you don't see or hear cars at all. Just wonderful views across the bay, and of Auckland off the back side. And songs of birds. A neighbor is building a pool, and slight construction noise starts at eight--it won't affect anyone but the most noise-sensitive, and can't be heard on the other side of the home where the pool is. We missed out on the much-vaunted canapés during pre-dinner drinks for some reason. But the breakfasts were very tasty--fluffy ricotta pancakes one morning, an open-faced omelet with capers, cartelized onions, chorizo the next. Plus granola and yogurt and fruit and on and on. Coffee to order. Pete and Caroline happily drive you to nearby restaurants/wineries for dinner, and you take a cab home rather than risk driving on narrow unfamiliar roads after dark and drinking. Mudbrick restaurants offered extraordinary dining, and they are a 5-10 minute, NZ$20 cab ride -- highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews