We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
iandsg
London, United Kingdom

Marino Ridge

Review of Marino Ridge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2020via mobile
We have just left 4 glorious days at Marino Ridge waheike, the view from our room was beyond amazing.
Caroline and Peter looked after us so beautifully. Their 2 poodles Libby and Fabio just made the trip even more special.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$295
  • Trip.com
    $695
  • Vio.com
    $229
  • Priceline
    $295
2.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • eDreams
    $155
  • Official Site
3.1 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boatsheds
$198
  • eDreams
    $198
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Shared Pool and deck
$260
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $260
6.2 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Units, some with sea views.
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $199
5.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Hotels.com
    $276
  • Priceline
    $299
8.4 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
    $140
6.9 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Two Bedroom Villas View from Living Room
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Vio.com
    $153
5.3 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$119
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $119
  • Vio.com
    $63
  • Agoda.com
7.5 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,346
  • Hotels.com
    $1,499
  • Expedia.com
    $1,499
  • Priceline
    $1,346
0.7 km from Marino Ridge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
91
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caring hosts place to stay private balcony caroline nz coromandel views lodge perfection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2019

As mentioned in my earlier review of a B&B in Te Anau, my traveling companion/wife and I generally prefer the privacy of a proper hotel or lodge instead of a B&B. But we made an exception on Waiheke, and are glad we did. Although the TripAdvisor blurb describes it as a "hotel," the reviews make clear that it's a private home with two en suite bedrooms on the main floor, and one below which has a private entrance. The hosts are informative about the best walks, wineries and restaurants. Take their advice about renting a car for a drive around the island. The lap pool had awesome views and was proper length for swimming along with a hot tub for warming up. The contemporary architecture of the house was stunning as was the decorating and furnishings. Truly a luxury home. Guests who love poodles are in for a treat. Location is ideal -- a short drive to ferry, but in secluded residential area with little traffic; you don't see or hear cars at all. Just wonderful views across the bay, and of Auckland off the back side. And songs of birds. A neighbor is building a pool, and slight construction noise starts at eight--it won't affect anyone but the most noise-sensitive, and can't be heard on the other side of the home where the pool is. We missed out on the much-vaunted canapés during pre-dinner drinks for some reason. But the breakfasts were very tasty--fluffy ricotta pancakes one morning, an open-faced omelet with capers, cartelized onions, chorizo the next. Plus granola and yogurt and fruit and on and on. Coffee to order. Pete and Caroline happily drive you to nearby restaurants/wineries for dinner, and you take a cab home rather than risk driving on narrow unfamiliar roads after dark and drinking. Mudbrick restaurants offered extraordinary dining, and they are a 5-10 minute, NZ$20 cab ride -- highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

After much research we headed to Marino Ridge for a quick escape. From the first interaction with our host, through to our pick up and stepping onto the property, it was evident that our high expectations will be met. Those high expectations were quickly surpassed as the experiences of our short visit begun to unfold. Whilst the website is captivating, witnessing the immaculate attention to every bit of detail in the design, room positioning, thought-through landscaping and interior was breathtaking. Every little detail has been carefully selected and nurtured to create positive and lasting experiences. The hospitality of our hosts added another layer yet! From the generous selection of wines and hors d'oeuvre, through to organic white chocolate berries on our bed (to surprise us on our return) and the art work of locally sourced breakfast treats, every action taken signalled utmost care and immaculate attention to detail. Every bit was lovingly and carefully tailored to our specific tastes. We felt thoroughly cared for and captivated, whilst enjoying the unique privacy that this experience is designed to create. After only 24 hours, the care, attention, generosity, richness of experiences and sophistication of our hosts found us feeling as if we had taken a week long break. We cannot wait to come back! Thank you!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandrinaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

We arrived by helicopter directly from Auckland airport. It was a stunning arrival with scenery that leaves one speechless. This property has magnificent views ... I didn’t want to stop staring at the every changing and hills. The decor , ambience and food exceptional. The place is an oasis of calm that we didn’t want to leave. It is stunning, spectacular and gentile all at the same time. What topped everything are Peter and Caroline, truly beautiful, gracious and caring people. This is a place i dream of taking others to experience!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bluebug2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2019

This was our first stop of New Zealand and yes we were very impressed with Peter and their hospitality . But as we carried on for the rest of our trip we discovered the other hosts and properties were as good if not better and the same for hospitality.
The location of Marino Ridge is very good as was their property, a very well planned and spacious property . Peter looked after us very well, Caroline was around and they are both pleasant people. Would definitely recommend staying there but would like to make a comment on their charges for two things first being the credit card charge ...which is not mentioned anywhere on the Booking.com website where we booked it &booking.com has since then refunded the charge ...2nd being the over charge for a small bag of laundry ($60) simply washed and dried not ironed ...because we learnt as we went along our travels that every where the hosts offer free laundering facilities..and no one anywhere did anyone charge us a whacking 3% or anything on our credit card . As they were not the cheapest whether they think it’s something to look into is obviously up to them .

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

Couldn’t have asked for anything more from this B&B! The views, the accommodations, Pete & Caroline, the breakfasts, the wood fire and more. Sitting on the patio at night, sipping wine, enjoying the fire, telling stories and listening to the lap of the water. Heaven on earth. We will absolutely be back, and absolutely recommend this gem to friends and family.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelinglama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews