We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Best way around waiheke

I was a bit hesitant to book an e bike because I'm not the most experienced cyclist and I had... read more

Reviewed 19 January 2020
AliciaBusa
,
Cleveland, Ohio
Run ride

Chris at Devonport was fantastically helpful & very knowledgeable. The bikes were great and well... read more

Reviewed 18 January 2020
Tanyamegan
Read all 102 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waiheke Island
from US$35.10
More Info
from US$106.65
More Info
from US$136.42
More Info
from US$92.51
More Info
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
85
10
1
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
10
1
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilly island these guys great fun battery ride ferry cyclists waiheke wineries oneroa instructions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

This is the second time we've hired e-bikes from Bikes and Barbers and just like the first we had an awesome day. Customer service was excellent, instructions simple and bikes great fun. Waiheke is hilly but there's lots to see - we biked to plenty of viewpoints on the way out to Onetangi for lunch and stopped at a couple of wineries on the way back to Oneroa. We picked them up at 11am and dropped off at 4pm ish and we all had a bit of battery left. Lots of Waiheke's best bits are off the main roads and the e-bikes meant we could nip around without sweating buckets the whole day. We'll be back again this Summer!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank projectbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic day on the hired bikes, they made getting around the island much more fun. The bikes were good and easy to use.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank samcI2668AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2019

We rented eight bicycles for the day. Between the eight we had three failures. First a flat tyre - before we even left (should have been checked by the staff.), which was replaced by one that had no battery power left.
We then went to Cable Bay Vineyards (1.1km) one of the bikes had on (of 5) bars left in the battery. Back we go for another bike.

In the end we went to Onetangi Bay which is about a 20km round trip. On the way back another two bicycles ran out of battery.
On the whole the bicycles were dirty and ill maintained. For the $60 we would have expected better.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank HeyJoeWhereAreYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotrubber007, Front Office Manager at Bikes & Beyond, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Hi So sorry to hear. Our youngest staff member struggled with your group - mostly as you did not seem i think to comprehend one another . Sad to have a puncture - but silly to blame yr accident on him.
You then unfortunately had not listened ? Or maybe misunderstood how to operate the turning on / off - a phone call would have been a solution but you choose to ride back . Obviously im only a third party to the equation here - but feel sad for both him and your group . As u can see from the many other reviews youre quiet a star for giving us our first ever 2 star review in 6 years, regards chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

If you have basic confidence on a bike and want to get up close and intimate with Waiheke Island, get an e-bike from these guys for a day. Pick-up from 10am is simple. Drop off is relaxed and permitted any time up to dusk.

While the island roads can be narrow and /or busy in places, most drivers are sensible and courteous. Some are even actually warm and encouraging!

Take advice from the hire shop staff after telling them what to take in. But the standard loop is about 25km and takes in most of the obvious highlights...and some little-known surprises like the Waiheke Museum (check days and times) and elevated beach vistas (keep an eye out as you climb the hills in e-comfort).

Use as much of the throttle as you need to make the hill climbs, and your legs will thank you at the end. There's little risk of running out of power in the 25km loop.

Stay left, dismount safely, and take your time, and you'll be so pleased you went to Bikes & Barbers. Just dont ask for a haircut. While they're top notch on the 'bike' part, the 'Barbers' part is an anachronism from a previous time when a barber was co-located with the bike shop!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank KiwiFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

A fantastic way to see the island. The bikes were excellent and on seeing my son who is over six foot tall they gave him a different bike. The company make everything easy - from booking, to learning how to use the bikes, the advice on where to go and the help on return. They even looked after our suitcase for the day which was greatly appreciated as we could not have made use of the day otherwise. I was a bit nervous about some of the narrow roads but the other road users seem very used to all the bikers and were very polite.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews