We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$179
$159
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Chris D
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States

Let Waiheke Island re-sort your bad life choices to make this #1

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2024
Disclaimer: Waiheke Island Resort management will likely refute this review point-by-point, but rest assured they’ll never be on site or do anything to correct the issues that led to the criticism.

Waiheke Island is beautiful so enjoy the view, because that’s all you’re likely to enjoy at this place.

Waiheke Island Resort has it all: resort in name only, closed ammenities, and unserviced rooms. (Please note: they DID make the beds in one of our rooms, once. But nothing else.)

Have a fetish for smoke damaged rooms? They’ve got you covered.

Want to book two rooms on the same reservation but ensure you’re on apposite ends of the property? WIR is the place to be.

Dead palms? Check

Rubbish under the deck? Check

Staff without a single care or answer? Check and check

Courtesy vans? They’ve got two but don’t expect to ride in one.

Electric bikes? The signs say ‘yes’ the people say ‘no’.

Food? Not if you’re visiting on a day that ends in ‘y’.

Weddings? Let me get a divorce lawyer ready for you on speed dial.

This place has so much potential, but for now that’s all it has.

Let’s hope they put some money into the unheated pool with cracks so large you’d be right to ask if the property was somehow, no matter how scientifically impossible, damaged in the Kaikoura or Christchurch quakes. Or they could address the many many many steps throughout the place that need attention. The most radical thought? For less than $100 they could ensure rooms have cups and plates. (Especially when the “resort” restaurant isn’t open and the nearest shop is a 1.3km walk from the “resort”.)

You’d hope the people working here (note: don’t expect anyone on site outside of 10am - 4pm on those pesky days ending in ‘y’) would care enough to try a bit harder or at least proactively suggest local restaurants or things to do given NOTHING IS OPEN OR AVAILABLE DURING PEAK SEASON AT THIS RESORT but, again, no.

No a million times over.

Most importantly— and this is the most serious criticism— this property is not for ANYONE with any kind of mobility challenges: you will be required to walk up and down significant inclines and there IS NO ASSISTANCE provided for you or your luggage. Not an issue for us but I would have been incandescent if parents or a mobility-challenged individual were with us.

So, re-sort your holiday plans if this is the “resort” on your list for all the reasons above and more.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Superior Strand Apartment living area
Booking.com
$299
  • Hotels.com
    $280
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $288
3.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Two double bed, Wild Thyme
Booking.com
$390
  • Tripadvisor
    $390
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $390
2.4 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$368
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $331
  • Expedia.com
    $367
3.3 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$35
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $140
1.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$595
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $459
  • Trip.com
4.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boatsheds
Booking.com
$248
  • eDreams
    $248
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$100
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,346
  • Hotels.com
    $1,250
  • Agoda.com
    $1,086
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$1,215
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,188
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,190
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room double bed ferry terminal balcony views island hindsight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2023

This felt like it aimed for a nice hotel experience but was run like a backpackers hostel. Pros were clean room and nice cocktails. Cons: nice but very inexperienced staff and messy, unmanaged swimming pool area. There was a public party on the Sunday evening but the swimming pool area was still absolutely disgusting by noon the following day which is pretty unfair for the guests who were paying a considerable amount of money.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail16156874120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

In an idyllic setting unfortunately the resort was not of a good standard. The room was dated but clean.
The cocktails were good as was the view.
Some of the staff were friendly.
The pool area was tired and in need of maintenance. The spa for general use was filthy.
As it was Labour Day weekend, the hotel hosted a Rose party and the admission charge was NZ$10 but this was little compensation for the noise for hotel residents and the filthy pool changing room and toilet which still hadn’t been cleaned by 11:30 the next day. We used the pool area that morning and asked for towels which they didn’t bother to bring us.
When we complained about being left with nothing to dry ourselves and the dirty changing room, they staff just shrugged (absolutely my favourite response to a complaint).
Apparently breakfast was included for a Saturday night stay but they didn’t tell us until Monday. As we complained they let us have a breakfast but we still had to pay for coffee which isn’t included in their breakfast.
Whilst I would stay in this island again, it definitely wouldn’t be here.

Room tip: Summer is busy here apparently but Spring and Autumn. Food is excellent as was the wine tour we did with Waiheke Island Tours.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank tinareid17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023

We struggled to get the tv working and the cups were dirty. No one answered the phone when we asked for assistance when we checked in. We told reception of the broken glass when we got there, but they charged us for the breakage. Breakfast was included and they tried to charge us for this, and eventually agreed to credit the account but still charged for tea/coffees. Everytime we talked to reception/breakfast staff they had the attitude of not wanting to be there and were not helpful at all.
The only good thing about the place was the amazing view from the apartment and the bar staff who were very friendly.
Considering the price, you pay; I think it is expensive for what it is. I think owners of the apartments need to call the management company who run the resort to account.
Such a shame as Waiheke is an amazing island and full of lots of fun things to do and the vineyards we went to were fantastic.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lozzer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2023 via mobile

First of all, this resort is not on the Hop On Hop Off bus route, but it is near a local bus stop. Very confusing. We used the Hop On Hop Off Explorer bus and ended up walking along the road for 25 minutes with some pretty good inclines, so we learned the hard way that Waiheke Island is NOT for pedestrians. In hindsight, we should have just taken a taxi from the ferry terminal. The hotel room itself was lovely. If you can, splurge for the sea view balcony. Since most places on the island close at 5 or just after dinner, the balcony is a nice place to enjoy the rest of your evening with a bottle of wine from one of the island’s many vineyards.

Room tip: The hotel is far from the Hop On Hop Off Explorer bus, and the island is not safe for pedestrians, so take a taxi for time and safety.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank claireyourschedule
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2023

Disappointing stay. The rooms are nice and staff pleasant but far too NOISY. I was in a room below a property which seems to be a rental managed by another company.

I attempted to call the resort reception twice both times with no answer. Just a voice mail saying you have called out of hours.

At nearly $350 a night I do expect a quality night sleep rather than being constantly disturbed by music, slamming doors and constant banging.

I’d recommend not housing paying guests below rented accomodation and would advise setting up an after hours number for guests to call when they need help.

Room tip: Ask not to be located near a renter and not in a room below anyone.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dreamer41979323523
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews