We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jasper

Should be called a motel, not a resort

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Dec 2021
Bar and restaurant was closed with no other options close by. Shuttle was also not available. At almost $500 a night i expected a bit more! Reception was also closed more than it was open. I've never checked out of a place with reception still closed 10am. Overpriced and lack of service. Never again.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Shared Pool and deck
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Hotels.com
    $199
1.7 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • eDreams
    $155
  • Official Site
    $155
2.3 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $286
  • Priceline
    $299
3.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
  • Priceline
    $155
  • Vio.com
    $155
  • eDreams
    $155
1.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Two double bed, Wild Thyme
$390
  • Priceline
    $390
  • eDreams
    $390
  • Official Site
    $390
2.4 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boatsheds
$198
  • eDreams
    $198
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Units, some with sea views.
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $199
1.2 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$295
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    $229
  • Priceline
    $295
4.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $88
  • Vio.com
    $64
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,346
  • Expedia.com
    $1,212
  • Vio.com
    $1,149
  • Hotels.com
    $1,212
4.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room double bed ferry terminal balcony views island hindsight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2021

We had planned to stay at the villa haven for 2 nights but checked out early as the rooms were filthy, covered in dust, mouldy showers, old toothpaste on the tap, toilet smelt like stale urine
The glasses and plates were also dirty and all required cleaning prior to being used
The blinds, counter tops, sofa, even TV remotes all had a layer of dust on them
We spoke to the management team who supposedly arranged cleaners to come in but on our return it appeared that nothing had been done
We have not been refunded any money - which is rich given that included in their price is a $75 cleaning fee - if only they’d used that to clean the place!
To say we are living in a pandemic where hygiene is of utmost importance this place is a complete joke
Even the pool facilities were dirty, smelly and with used plastic cups/plates floating around

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Villa Haven is a privately owned property that has NOTHING to do with Waiheke Island Resort.
We do not receive any money from the letting of this property, nor do we service it, nor do we charge OUR guests any cleaning fee!
If you have a problem with the state of your room then CONTACT THE PEOPLE WHO LEASED IT TO YOU - they have nothing to do with our business, our standards & our service!

Our pool area is closed for renovation until we officially open on Friday Dec 10th, so I know your claims regarding our Pool are ridiculous - makes me doubt the validity of your cleanliness claims... Anyway if you had a shred of decency you would remove this 'review' as it has nothing to do with us...

- Was our business name on your booking confirmation? No.
- Was our business logo on your room key? No.
- Did you check in at Resort Reception? No.
- Did you book through our website? No.
- Did you bother to read any of the signage around the Resort that clearly shows 'Villa Haven' (Unit 23) IS NOT owned or operated by Waiheke Island Resort? Obviously not

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

We weren’t staying at the resort but had a booking for the restaurant. We ended up walking out as we were left standing there for over 5 minutes with no one acknowledging us. The 2 girls behind the bar saw us but completely ignored us. I phoned the manager and he was arguing with me saying it’s common to wait at the bar for over 5 minutes. We weren’t wanting a drink, just to be seated at a table. The restaurant was not busy and looked very poorly run. The manager was very rude on the phone and said he didn’t agree with me.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2021

The view is amazing and the staff were great - the room was such a let down and in serious need of a spruce up. It was so dated and run down. The bathroom smelled of urine and the bathroom vanity was actually coming away from the wall. No toilet roll holder. The headboard of the bed had a horrible smell coming from it and hairs stuck in the material. It's such a shame that the room doesn't match the 5-star sea view. Other things that were a bit odd is that it costs $25 to use the pool? Restaurant wasn't open during the hours that it was meant to be. It seemed the management of this resort is a bit all over the place to be honest. Mini-golf course was great.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank StephanieAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Hi Stephanie,
You were charged $25 to use the Resort Pool because you were not a guest of the Resort, but rather staying in a privately owned Unit that has nothing to do with our business.
We do not have headboards in any of our Units, & we certainly would not allow any of our Units to be left in the state you have described.
We're not sure what info your provider gave you concerning our restaurant hours, but Guests of ours receive accurate restaurant hours of operation upon check in - these hours are also on our website.
Glad you enjoyed our views, our staff service & our MiniGolf Course - next time we love the opportunity to also provide your accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

OK, so I fell for the hype on the website and in the glossy brochure, and yes, the view from our balcony was superb – over the lush green valley below to the sparking waters of Palm Beach beyond. But what the promotional lit didn’t mention was that the site is perched on a hillside with endless stairs to anywhere in the resort – not ideal for aging seniors with impaired mobility. The situation was made worse by the inadequate provision of parking, with the result that on our last night, returning from dinner in Onetangi, the only parking space available was one at the top of the hill, which I had to climb next morning to retrieve the car!
I feel the resort needs to be more honest about this in its promotional literature. It’s fine if you’re a mountain goat, or fit as a fiddle, but not ideal for those with mobility issues.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

Thank you for the feedback Mike.
Most places on Waiheke can prove to be a bit challenging with access due to the general Island terrain, we do hope it wasn't too much strain for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020

Our group stayed for the one night, the staff were very accommodating and friendly.
The views from our room were really beautiful.
There was a let luggage room which was handy as we didn't have to drag our bags out to lunch.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the beach were great.
Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

We are glad you enjoyed your stay Donna :)
Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews