We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kate C
Sydney, Australia

Terrible & false advertising

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2019via mobile
Advertised on hotels.com as including ‘free breakfast’. There was no free breakfast and not even any option to buy breakfast. With a baby & no car, this caused significant inconvenience. The hotel & hotels.com have agreed they did not provide free breakfast however hotels.com has refused to issue reimbursement as receipts were not kept for breakfast or travel to get breakfast. Even a suggested reimbursement for a ‘reasonable cost’ of breakfast and transport was declined. Very disappointed they can falsely advertise this then not issue any reimbursement or apology.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WaihekeIslandResort, Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Hi Kate.
We are sorry to hear about this, and we are sorry that there isn't anything the Resort will be able to do to help with compensation regarding this.
As explained to you- had this reservation been made directly through us we would be able to resolve any issues immediately. It is unfortunate that you do not wish to seek compensation via Expedia as we have encouraged you to do.
Booking through third party websites that falsely advertise services, such as free breakfast, is something we do not take lightly and we are currently working with Expedia to resolve how & why this happened.

We do maintain that we feel that this review should be aimed at the business you booked through, not unfairly at us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Shared Pool and deck
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $199
1.7 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $155
  • Official Site
    $155
2.3 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $155
1.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Two double bed, Wild Thyme
$390
  • Tripadvisor
    $390
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $390
2.4 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boatsheds
$198
  • eDreams
    $198
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Family Units, some with sea views.
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Priceline
    $199
1.2 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$295
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    $235
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $286
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,346
  • Hotels.com
    $1,212
  • Trip.com
4.6 km from Waiheke Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
37
37
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room double bed ferry terminal balcony views island hindsight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

Wonderful Space to be with family, everything is close by, though the kitchen was a bit dirty, nothing major to complain about. Parking is first come first serve.
Relaxing place, had Netflix, Sky and unlimited Wifi 😊

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thelaveluas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Parke MacKay, General Manager at Waiheke Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2021

PLEASE NOTE- This reservation was for a stay in a private accommodation on site that is not managed by the Waiheke Island Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

When my friend booked she asked for 2 single beds and to be on one level. There were lots of steep steps down to unit which I found quite unnerving carrying cases down. Unit had 1 queen bed and a pull out couch. No linen for couch. Sky didn't work. Tried to watch a movie on laptop but kept buffering so gave up. No phone to ring reception. Was not told when we checked in the you had to pay extra to have towels changed. No plug in sink to wash dishes. Very unstable sad table on deck with ONE chair. People upstairs very noisy. Would have gone up to bar in evening but the hill and the darkness was too daunting. All in all a very disappointing experience and totally over priced - for $322 per night you expect everything to be spot on.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank PatriciaF4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019

Double bed villa was clean and comfortable.
Although the continental breakfast, as advertised, was not available
Check in & out was efficient and friendly
Access between the villas and reception is very difficult if, as were a few of our group, you have limited mobility.
Lovely views from the balconies/decks

Room tip: Query access if anyone has limited mobility
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile



I booked a 2 bedroom appartment here for 2 nights in March. The living area is light and spacious  and has large sliding doors that open onto a huge deck with a lovely view and the sea is visible in the distance.  The oversized deck has a table and six chairs and two loungers. The kitchen is compact but modern. There is no dishwasher.The fridge is on the small side for a party of 4 and there is only a tiny ice box and no freezer space as such. There are lots of bottles of alcohol in the appartment and in the fridge but check the prices before opening as the wines range from 55 to 80$. The bedrooms were compact but the beds were comfortable 
The appartment as a whole however is in need of a good freshen up as nearly every wall, door frame sutrface is chipped or scuffed and it feels tired. 
In terms of facilities the pool was nice and had a good view of the surrounding area. The  resort is on a hill with lots of steps but there was a limited mobility appartment near reception.
The reception staff were pleasant and helpful however in March it feels as though the resort is partially closed. Not sure if this happens all year round but the restaurant was closed on the two nights we were there (Monday and Tuesday) and when we enquired about 2 yoga classes advertised in our room for a Wednesay morning we were told there  was just a Wednesday evening class running which was after we had left.
There was a condo near us being renovated which meant that there was noise from that and workmen during the day. Work was also being done on the gardens. I understand that a hotel needs to renovate and refresh and our appartment certainly needed it but it did not give the resort a relaxed holiday feel. 
In summary although the appartment is spacious and light with a great view it was not good value at 215€ a night compared to other accommodation I booked on North Island at a similar price. 

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank swm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

The units are comfortable but bathrooms could do with an upgrade, no ironing board in the unit. Restaurant was average and service need to be improved. Getting around the site is difficult, unlit pathway and steps makes getting around the site at night dangerous also a lack of hand rails on paths. Steps by mini golf need some serious work, major hazard in the dark.
Some renovation work was underway.
Very poor WiFi around the site.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RichardM8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews