We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
VICKI H
Harrington, Australia

Luxury Lodge with Sensational Views and Amazing Hosts

Review of Te Whau Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2020
My husband & I stayed at Te Whau Lodge for 2 nights in November 2019. This Lodge is absolute luxury and we most definitely can recommend it.
The lodge sits high looking over the most wonderful views and across to the Auckland city skyline which looks amazing at night also.
Marg and Rob our hosts really make this place!! Our welcome platter and wine was a lovely touch. Marg & Rob are the most amazing, welcoming and generous hosts - breakfast is deluxe and yet very relaxed and the food top class. Afternoon Happy Hour is a wonderful time to get to know fellow guests and our hosts with beautiful canapés and drinks including local wines. Then turndown service with port and chocolates. We did get to see some of beautiful Waiheke Island however our stay at the Lodge was the highlight due mainly to the wonderful hosts Marg and Rob. Thank you and we will return for another visit and look forward to seeing you both then.
Vicki & Tony Hansen, Harrington NSW
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Superior Strand Apartment living area
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.9 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
4.1 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
6.1 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,188
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Shared Pool and deck
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $220
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
6.8 km from Te Whau Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Waiheke Island
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
208
6
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2020 via mobile

Highly recommend this B&B for a getaway in Waiheke! The property is in great condition with stunning views of a yacht-filled bay and the Auckland skyline. Rob and Marg were gracious hosts, treating guests to delicious 4 course breakfast, local wine and canapés at happy hour and turn down service with port and chocolate in the evening. We had a 5 star experience and hope to return again in the future!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 223darrenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020

This is an unusual five star review, because I only stayed at Te Whau on this visit for about five hours. It was an unusually hot day for Waiheke (early February, 27c/80f + degrees), which is also unusually hot for Auckland, and there was no air conditioning in my guest room. The windows were open but the delightful breeze wasn’t enough to cool the room down. Unfortunately I need a very cool room to sleep, so I had to leave the island and find an air conditioned room on the mainland. That being said, I have been told by the owner, Grant, that they will be installing air conditioning in the next few months as Waiheke has been experiencing warmer temperatures of late. If it weren’t for the lack of air conditioning, and the extraordinarily hot day on Waiheke, my stay at Te Whau would have been perfect. It has everything going for it – hence the five star review. First of all, the view is spectacular, overlooking the harbor and the bay, with Auckland’s iconic skyline in the distance. Then there are the hosts at Te Whau, Marg and Rob, who are a delightful couple that go above and beyond to make sure you are enjoying your stay. They serve local wines and canapes in the afternoon and then create a super-deluxe breakfast each morning. My first visit to Te Whau was in 2001 when the lodge was run by Gene and Liz, who were the consummate hosts. Marg and Rob have continued that tradition. Finally, there are only four guest rooms at the lodge, so it feels more like you’re staying at someone’s home than at a commercial B&B. To sum up, there is a peaceful, relaxed, welcoming ambiance at Te Whau, whether you’re sitting on your private porch or enjoying the central lounge and deck area. Despite my short stay this time around, I will be back to Te Whau the next time I ‘m in New Zealand – especially in their more typical, cooler weather. Te Whau is a very special place, managed by special people, and fully deserves a five star review.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clueful_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

A fantastic 3-night stay for my husband and myself at this beautiful, peaceful lodge with the most amazing views. The food from the welcome platter to breakfast, and not to mention Marg's great smoothies, to the evening canapes and pre-drinks on the deck was sensational. Our room had stunning views and was beautifully presented. We cannot thank Mark and Rob enough for their hospitality and generosity in making our stay so relaxing. This is true 5 Star luxury and cannot recommend it highly enough. I know that we will certainly be returning in the future.
Kerrie and Murray

Room tip: There are only 4, all with amazing views, so does not matter which one you choose.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellers2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We stayed at Te Whau for just one night last weekend to celebrate our 10th anniversary. It’s set up away from the hustle bustle of the centre with stunning views and delicious quiet we wanted! The rooms all have the same view as the main lounge and dining area!
The amenities are fantastic and the service superb! Marg’s warm welcome and caring attentive service makes one feel at home! The breakfast was amazing and drinks in the evening were brilliant a nice touch to their hospitality!
Thank you Marg and Team for your lovely care and top class service we felt spoilt!
Definitely go if you want to stay somewhere extra special!
Purnima and Alex

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Punoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2020

What an amazing experience, this place makes you feel so at home and go out of there way to make sure you are catered for and happy, from the 3 course breakfasts to the canopies at night this place will take your breath away.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Drew3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews