We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai cuisine, great ocean views”

Red Crab Thai Cuisine
Reserve a table
Price range: $26 - $97
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: by GUY THAI RESTAURANT Discover the authentic taste of Thailand at the Guy Thai Restaurant . Traditional Thai dishes from the country’s four regions provide diners with an exceptional culinary experience. Dishes draw on the rich heritage of Royal Thai cuisine. Original compositions of Thai cuisine from the four regions, down through the centuries, and everywhere from palace kitchens to popular street stalls are the culinary currency of Chef Panuwat
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Excellent Thai cuisine. Very welcoming restaurant and relaxed setting. Great ocean views. Lunch menu is affordable and has diverse offerings. Very clean and charming. Loved my vegan dish and my husband said the pad Thai was outstanding. Glad we stumbled on this small restaurant in the heart of Oneroa.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank RobertH898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

A good range of small and larger dishes. Service a little slow, especially considering it wasn’t busy at all. The food was yum

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Tabatha1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

Normally Thai cuisine is an adventure for the taste buds…chilli; spices; flavours. This is the first time I’ve ever eaten bland Thai food.

We shared the fish cakes to start. They were a bit stodgy.

I had the pork belly to follow, it was described as medium hot on the menu but was very mild. The broccoli and cauliflower in the dish included the woody stems - no taste; care or delicacy in the dish.

My wife had the soft shell crab. A very dry dish with no sauce at all. The garlic in the dish was a bit burnt.

The meal was fuel rather than food and definitely not fun. I won’t return.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Greg548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2023 via mobile

Owner took order and then we sat there for an hour with no food. Eventually he realised he had forgotten order. We had to order again and food came quickly but no apology really. Outside option not recommended - sand flies everywhere. Food ok when we got it but not a great experience.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler15632687230, Owner at Red Crab Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2023

Hello Jennie
Thank you for your kind comments
I am apologise for your getting bad experience in Redcrab waiheke
The owner is took you order is my father
He is old please except my apologies
Next time when you come visit please let me know
Kind regards
Guythai
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023

Our party of 4 had a fantastic & authentic tasting dinner at Red Crab. Have travelled to Thailand several times & was pleasantly surprised to find this gem on Waiheke. Often feel many of the Thai restaurants in NZ are mediocre & almost formula like in taste.

Red Crab delivered that little bit more with flavours & especially enjoyed the Som Tum salad which was delicious with a very good chilli kick!
Great comments all round from our group with the curries & stir fries.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Twosillybulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Red Crab Thai Cuisine also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Red Crab Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.