We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

Red Crab Thai Cuisine
Reserve a table
Price range: $26 - $97
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: by GUY THAI RESTAURANT Discover the authentic taste of Thailand at the Guy Thai Restaurant . Traditional Thai dishes from the country’s four regions provide diners with an exceptional culinary experience. Dishes draw on the rich heritage of Royal Thai cuisine. Original compositions of Thai cuisine from the four regions, down through the centuries, and everywhere from palace kitchens to popular street stalls are the culinary currency of Chef Panuwat
Reviewed 6 July 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal at Red crab aka Guy Thai in Waiheke. I ordered sweet and sour veges and my husband had Red Thai curry beef. The food was very hot, service very attentive and on a cold night the restaurant was warm and cosy. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2020
3  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2020

Another long walk around the shore line of Waiheke so why not a nice lunch to finish the outing. Lovely spot on the little balcony overlooking the sea. Start with Thai and finish with a cold beer.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

This humble restaurant goes unseen to most tourists tucked behind the main high street. If you find yourself lucky enough to dine at the Red Crab Thai, you’re in for a treat. Food is affordable and does not compromise on flavour. It transports me back to Thailand every time. Service is welcoming and efficient. The whole baby snapper is absolutely delightful.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank anitasH5247LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

We dined at the Red Crab last week and found the service and food terrible. Waited over 30 minutes to get a drink and another 30 minutes before our entree (spring rolls) to appear. After another30 minutes my husband went to the bar and told them if the main didn't arrived wihtin 5 minutes we would leave. Magically it appeared but wasn't good and we left half of it. Complimentary drinks were given but not needed - rather have had a delicious plate of food. Shame as the restaurant has a lovely setting.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
redcrabw, Owner at Red Crab Thai Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Here is not True There are both waiting for food .....but Restaurant super busy with out the seat
there are come to restaurant with out booking our staff telling is food very slow and chef can not handle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

We had a super meal and thoroughly enjoyed the location in Onearoa. Great sea views. The staff were friendly and the menu was reasonably priced. Pino Noir wine choice not that fab however good friendly service and lovely atmosphere. Would definitely go there again.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Springbok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Red Crab Thai Cuisine also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Red Crab Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.