We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly service and tasty food”
Review of The Shed Te Motu

The Shed Te Motu
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our very own take on rural wine shed dining, nestled in the very vines that produce our award-winning reds, overlooking the Onetangi Valley. Our team work a special kind of magic, drawing on fresh produce from our ever-expanding gardens to produce honest-to-goodness, gutsy and thoroughly modern food, packed full of flavour. We grow ingredients onsite and like to shop locally. Either seated inside or outside enjoying the sunshine, you will enjoy our uniquely relaxed, modern-rustic atmosphere.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

We're so glad we had made a reservation for lunch here. It's great to do a wine tasting along with food, because both taste better together. The raw fish carpaccio was delightful with a soy cream drizzled with lime juice/oil. Fried eggplant was a tasty, crunchy dish atop hummus sprinkled with seeds and spices. The beef carpaccio was also heavenly with a pile of fresh shaved cheese on top, and a lovely cream base. We also shared a cheese plate that was piled with a number of sides and spreads. Service was very friendly and informative. An excellent way to spend a couple of hours! The wines were probably the best we tasted on Waiheke (compared to Tantalus, Casita Miro, Man O' War, Mudbrick and Stonyridge).

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

I had probably the best wine experience on the island !! The place is cozy and romantic! Managers and waitresses are kind and welcoming! And last but not least the food is superb! Maybe it is because I am Italian but I felt in Tuscany for the night, thank you 💃🏻

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank travellingseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

Our day on Waiheke was rainy so we didn’t get to appreciate the beauty of the area but the food was quite nice. From fish croquettes to beetroot dosa we enjoyed each dish.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Suie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

Incredible food, world class wine, experience locale, friendly service. Memories made. Love this place! Highly recommended 💯🙌🏼♥️

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

The service, the food, the atmosphere, everything was amazing. And, dog friendly!
We sampled most dishes on the menu and all delivered. And then the wine!!
This is a spectacular dining experience, don’t miss it!

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank JKA2012b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Shed Te Motu also viewed

 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 

Been to The Shed Te Motu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.