We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sticky Date Pudding - ever!!!”

DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 February 2017

A hidden treasure! Might not look the best from outside, but the welcoming staff and the delicious meals with generous servings are not to be missed. We had the orange roughy (fresh as); the lamb and pork roasts (crackling was perfect). All served with generous helpings of vegetables. But the ultimate pleasure was the sticky date pudding! It was absolutely delicious - would gladly pay for the recipe! Try The Barn - you will be pleasantly surprised!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Reviews such as your are what make our efforts so worthwhile. Thank you for your glowing comments. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Need to bring it up to date. First of all ditch the tv with pictures of the food! Looks like a cheap restaurant in Thailand. Lighting too harsh. Food is obviously not home cooked but well presented. Chef should cook a special each day that is home cooked, might be surprised how people respond.
Had the ribs which were very sweet and soggy and I'm afraid they are just like the ones you get in supermarket and heat in microwave. Husbands chicken sweet and sour also not good.
Has potential as good location.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank louisa1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

We have taken your comments on board. However I would point out that ALL our food is prepared from scratch on premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We come only for drings and desserts but it was very nice place, fantastic service and good location. Much over avarage low Picton quality

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 739dominikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

I am very glad you enjoyed the visit and the desserts. Everyone tells us that our cheesecake and sticky date puddings are to die for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The ribs were delicious, but we sat and watched people receive their meals, finish and leave before we got ours. There was only 3 of us. We were never offered bottle water while other tables got them. Was strange? Very hot inside. Was sweating, no air flow or air con.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank OliviaT1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

I am glad you enjoyed the food and I am sorry that the service was lacking. As we keep saying - if something is lacking PLEASE tell us at the time so that we can fix the problem to both our satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The decor is groovy. Its full of out-dated knick-knacks that are interesting to look at while you are waiting for your meal. It has a casual atmosphere so don't be afraid to rock on in an soon as you arrive in Picton even if have been on the road for multiple hours (we did because we were starving). All the staff play a part in the service so if they are busy you are greeted and seated quickly. The meals are excellently cooked and well worth the prices and the waiting time is minimal.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lia060765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your great comments. I have passed these on to both our serving staff and the kitchen. Hope we see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing