We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, going back tonight ”

DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Great little place with lots of locals eating there. We had the daily roast when we here a few weeks ago and it is a bargain and excellent. In the middle of winter, it is good to find a warm and inviting place. Writing this review before we eat their again tonight.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank TomSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

I am so glad you enjoyed your meal. Many people have told us that they believe the roast to be the best of our meals and the best in Picton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Today was my wife's birthday and she chose to go the Barn for lunch. We both had the fish of the day which was orange roughy, served with amazing chips and salad and we order an egg with it. Everything was cooked beautifully and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The restaurant was lovely and warm and the staff were very friendly. Can we borrow your chef for month . We always get a nice meal here. Thank you again, Merv and Gina

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope we see you again soon or maybe for your wife's next birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Walking in we weren't sure about the recommendation to eat here. They were vacuuming and it was pretty empty for a Sunday evening around 6 pm. It looked like the town was closing up - which it basically was. When the meal arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The food amount were generous and tasty!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Bucket55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your honesty and we are very glad you were pleased with your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Needed a hot meal on a most miserable wet night. Staff were welcoming. We had the seafood chowder which was delicious. ...generous serving. Lots to choose from the menu.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank amgcwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

We do our best to make our guest feel welcome. It is always nice to know that we are succeeding. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

My partner and I dined here while staying in Picton after catching the ferry, we loved the food and atmosphere so much that on our return a week later we chose to eat there again.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat06274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina W, Owner at DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thank you for your very positive comments. Look forward to seeing you again next time that you come down to the Mainland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing