We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$179
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ellen5181
New York City, New York
Come with low expectations and be pleasantly surprised.
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Feb 2024via mobile
Based upon reviews I was a bit worried about this stop. My room was 3rd floor and while quite dated and somewhat spartan, with a low end motel feel, the bed and bedding were quite comfortable, and the shower was good. My room felt relatively clean. Slept very well actually. The music across the road stopped pretty early as I didnt hear anything past 9:30 pm or I was really tired. The issue is lack of ac when it gets warm but for me being strategic abt closing the drapes, and utilizing the fan and side windows, the temp was manageable. Hotel is well located. No safe in room and door has no extra security. Put the do not disturb sign on door and housekeeping dropped off fresh set of towels. They did come in. Had breakfast one morning and nothing special but there are loads of places a short walk away. Would I stay here again? Would depend what other options exist. I don’t sense there are many options in this town. The pool looked dirty and uninviting to me but it seemed like it didn’t deter others. Not lots of loungers.
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Location of Hotel
Tripadvisor
$162
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$108
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
A local walk from the hostel
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $66
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
10.4 km from Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Picton
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
112
193
174
72
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
193
174
72
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was spacious cooked breakfast great view top floor stayed one night interislander ferry town centre picton harbour marlborough sounds south island views cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Hands down the grottiest most overpriced "hotel" room I have EVER stayed at in NZ. Sofa so dirty and stained I couldn't bring myself to sit on it without putting a blanket on it. Dirty and stained carpet, dirty marks on all surfaces. Just awful.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EvilQT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vivek Vadevelu, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Ora ,

We're truly sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. It's disheartening to learn that your stay fell short of expectations, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We want to assure you that your feedback is incredibly important to us. While we are in the process of refurbishment plans, we understand that cleanliness should never be compromised. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure that such lapses are avoided in the future.

We appreciate your honesty and hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a much-improved experience.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

While a convenient location to spend the night pre Queen Charlotte Trek, I would not recommend it. The hotel is run down (dirty carpet, stains on walls, etc). Best part of the room was the fan which provided noise to help sleep.
The elevator was filthy and small. We used it only to get our luggage to the third floor.
Asked for coffee to go at 7 and the man at breakfast looked at me like I was crazy.
I am sure you can find a better place.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank weeziek2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vivek Vadevelu, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Ora,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We're sorry you didn't have a great experience.

We've got plans for refurbishment underway to address the issues you mentioned. Sorry about the elevator and the coffee , your issue has been addressed to the team

We hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Incredible!! Staff are fantastic and go the extra mile, walked into a HAPPY ANIVERSARY sign with hand cut love hearts around it. Harbour view room was comfortable with an extraordinary view.
Had a meal here, chef created an extra special anniversary desert to you it off.
Will be back

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Voyage26165201820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vivek Vadevelu, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Ora

Thank you for your glowing review! We're glad that you had such a memorable anniversary weekend with us. Looking forward to your next visit!

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024

great location in Picton, great views, lovely pool barely used, and close to restaurants, Breakfast is basic, but good quality. Staff are helpful and the reception area is always staffed. Our room was very big and was well stocked. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom modern.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightseer30452080578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vivek Vadevelu, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Ora

We greatly appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about your recent stay with us!

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's great location with its stunning views of Picton, as well as the lovely pool area. We're delighted that you found our breakfast offerings to be of good quality, and we're happy to know that our staff were helpful throughout your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon for another wonderful stay!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

The property needs refreshing badly. As an example the chairs outside of the rooms are old plastic chairs bought on sale many years ago. The floor of the patio outside the is like gravel. The hallways feel like a college dorm. There is very limited lounge furniture by the pool and the pool itself needs to be refurbished.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dheeraj Bhaik, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Or mark,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We understand your concerns about the property's condition, and we want to assure you that refurbishment plans are in motion.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to welcome you back to an improved experience in the future.

T
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews