We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
aml888
San Francisco, California

It's OK for one night

Review of Portage Resort
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2024
If you're hiking the Queen Charlotte track, the only other option after a very long Day 3 is a backpacker hostel. The Portage has its issues but it's the better option and is fine for one night.

The setting is gorgeous, like pretty much everything on the QC. The restaurant and bar, both in the main building, overlook a beautiful bay and the views are stunning. There's a terrace off the bar which is a great place to have a cold beer or glass of wine. The restaurant's pretty good and even has some decent vegetarian options. The staff were all very friendly.

A big plus was the guest laundry. We were able to wash our stinky trail clothes for $4 NZD.

Our room, however, was pretty disappointing. We stayed in one of the "budget friendly" Weka rooms. It was pretty bare bones, like a Motel 6 with much nicer towels and a comfy bed but without AC or a TV. There was a really grotty, stained old arm chair in one corner and the bathroom was functional but weird. There were lots of dead bugs around.

Overall, it's overpriced for what it is but for one night on the trail with cold beer, a shower and a comfy bed, it delivers.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: It's definitely worth having a drink on the terrace.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $155
  • Tripadvisor
    $155
  • Priceline
7.8 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial shot of Picton Marina
Tripadvisor
$101
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Portage Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$152
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $137
10.4 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$295
  • Hotels.com
    $295
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • Tripadvisor
    $295
10.4 km from Portage Resort
Location of Hotel
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $156
10.4 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
10.4 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fiji or Picton? There's not alot of difference, this is a minutes walk from your room
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $150
10.4 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$220
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $220
10.3 km from Portage Resort
Tripadvisor
$165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.4 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $67
  • Priceline
11.1 km from Portage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Picton
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
180
159
123
90
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
159
123
90
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen charlotte track tui room qc track stayed two nights south island montage accommodation bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Such a great location. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Storms in the region from a few years ago has caused some significant issues to the road network in the region and the fact The Portage is still providing a great service is a credit to them.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trek54598328899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Last stop on the Queen Charlotte Track for us, and great to cool off in the pool. Lovely big rooms facing the sea. Exceptional mussel entree for dinner but fish and chips were more ordinary. Drinks are expensive. Liked the shuttle up to the track in the morning. Staff were backpacker friendly but not particularly skillful. The packed lunches were part of our package and very good.

Room tip: Get the shuttle back to the Track.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CookbookTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Me and hubs stayed just one night, had the best view from our room, so peaceful and clean, hubs said his steak was one of the best he’s ever had, cooked to perfection, I had Thai curry vegetarian, it was so so good the flavours and amount was perfect, would love to come back and bring friends too, wish I had my Hansel’s to have a swim in the bay, sea life was super sharp, our porter that took us from boat to resort was awesome very friendly everyone was

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annie_bananz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

After a walk on the Queen Charlotte track decided to pop into the Portage for a cold drink. BIG MISTAKE!!
1 glass of beer (Tui which is a basic cheap beer) was $21 and a small can of coke $6.50. When I quizzed the price the poor bartender looked embarrassed and said sorry I agree, but they have recently put up the prices. Well they lost our custom as we would have had more drinks and food if they did not gouge customers. I warned others walking down the road and luckily the decided to not go in.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Hi there, we are really sorry that you had this experience. There was indeed a pricing error on this occasion which has now been rectified. We hope you will consider dropping by to see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024 via mobile

We were unsure what to expect after reading some mixed reviews, but come on people...this is paradise!!
All the staff from maintenance/grounds to housekeeping,FOH, bar and waiting staff were just lovely.
We appreciated having a little fridge and coffee machine in our room (Tui Terraces) and there was heaps of hot water at good pressure in the shower. A nice deep balcony meant you could be in the sun or the shade.
The restaurant was fine (mussels in cream sauce were REALLY good). Prices were what you should expect for the location.
Did some walks and took a double kayak to The Gap. No problems there either. Even had a float plane come in near us, and that's something you don't see every day.
Loved our 2 nights at The Portage thanks!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Resort821150
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Management, Other at Portage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Thanks for this great review of your stay with us. We think it's paradise also!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews