We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Top 10(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sequoia Lodge(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
162
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of wineother guestsjanet iangreat hostsb and bbed and breakfastsouth islandnew zealanda great stayroom was spaciousold friendsnext morningrestaurants and barscooked breakfastlovely homeup to dateferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This is a first class Bed and Breakfast. The room was excellent – clean, modern and comfortable with good facilities. Ian and Janet were very friendly and good company clearly enjoying the interaction with their guests. The Breakfast was lovely and served to us, unlike the “Do it yourself” breakfast we experienced elsewhere. Stayed here just one night in March on a 7 week trip covering 18 locations throughout New Zealand. I can honestly say that price and everything else considered, Anchor Down was top of my list. The area is lovely if the weather is good! The Edwin Fox Museum (restored sailing ship) is well worth a visit. Lots of lovely boats in the Marina.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi John T. We are just so thrilled with your review and thank you very much. We always hope that people we are hosting get a good guest experience and to read your review has touched our hearts.
Picton has a lot to offer and it is so good that during your stay you were able to get a taste.
We wish you wonderful future travels.

kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We stayed here for one night at the end of the South Island section of our 3-week road trip around NZ. The location was ideal for catching the early morning ferry - and our hosts supplied a continental breakfast tray the night before so that our departure wasn't delayed. Really impressed by the friendly welcome which included complimentary drinks on the patio. Our large room had both a double and single bed and came with fridge, microwave and TV but lacked any kind of view and had little natural light. The en suite arrangement was unusual with a small toilet and a separate shower room at opposite ends of the bedroom. In summary, a comfortable stop that suited our purposes well.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this for us.

kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

What a fantastic place. Arrived after a long drive to be greeted by Janet who immediately offered a glass of wine and a place to chill out while she described things to do in town. She just seemed to know at a glance the type of traveller I was and what I might be interested in (solo female, shorts and comfy shoes into fitness/walks etc.). Lovely room, close to town, geniuinely friendly and interested hosts who try and make your stay special. Just wish I would have stayed longer. If you are a solo traveller or couple you can't do better.

Room Tip: Only three ground floor rooms, perfect for solo/ couples.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justine502018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Wow justine502018 thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay. Hahaha, sometimes we just get lucky in our guesses of what people like to do.
We hope you travel to us again and we appreciate your statement re single travellers too.

cheers and fabulous future travel...Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Anchor Down is a lovely B&B! The warm welcome, the comfortable & stylish rooms and the delicious & plentiful breakfast make for an excellent experience. I have stayed with Janet & Ian three times now and will definitely be back for my next trip to Picton! Can highly recommend this B&B to anyone!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Saskia. It was wonderful to see you again and thank you for taking the time to do this review.
Thank you for the breakfast comment. We look forward to seeing the two of you again.

kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A very tidy and clean B and B with great hosts Janet and Ian. Can highly recommend staying here. Ian's breakfasts are delicious and South Island tip sheet is helpful for travellers and the opportunity to meet other guests was fabulous.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi ian t thank you for your great review. We are delighted you found the tip sheet helpful and that breakfast was up to scratch.
We do hope you chose Anchor Down again when you are in Picton next.
kind regards Ian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews