We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Agoda.com
US$47
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
97
79
41
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
79
41
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night queen charlotte track spa pool private room well equipped kitchen hostels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We made the mistake of booking on NYE, it was very noisy with a full on party right outside our room. When we stayed again a couple of nights later we had a much better experience. In general the staff seemed friendly and helpful and the room was pretty nice. Seemed like good value overall. Does need better wifi though.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JonnyC000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The Villa feel like a home away from home. Simple, but cosy, it's probably one of the sweetest place to stay in New Zealand with his cute outside area.
It's clean, tidy and friendly.
I stayed there when I arrived on the South island, stayed there again before going back to the North island and would definitely stop there again if I go back to New Zealand one day.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Émilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Lovely hostel. They have a nice garden and a "tree house". Perfect location, as well. The supermarket is just at the back of the hostel and the bakery is just right beside it. They also serve free apple crumble every night.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rynj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I am quite surprise that alot of hostels in nz do not provide adequate charging point for dorm. This is a no no for me, everyone need to fight for the point is not a good thing to start with.

This villa is pretty but lack of some amenities.
The bed is making noise which is quite common in nz, weird...

The next door bakery has a very nice sausage roll.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank dor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaPicton, Manager at The Villa Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Kia ora dor66,

Thanks for taking time from your travels to leave us a review!

The Villa was built around 130 years ago when there wasn't a very big need for many charging points, which is not the case today! We have installed multi plugs into our dorm rooms to give all our guests access to power, but sometimes they can be taken accidentally.

Thanks for letting us know so we can replace any missing in our rooms.

Nga mihi,
Josh
The Villa

P.S (Definitely agree about the sausage roll :P)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

I stayed for two nights and it was all in all a pleasant stay.
My only complaint would be the bed; I could feel the springs in my back the whole time, which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. Sufficiently clean (as can be expected in a hostel; no more, but also no less). Location is good; just a short walk to the ferry & bus terminals and city center, bakery next door, supermarket one street away.
Basic breakfast with toast, jam, coffee included (though that is apparently only the case in the winter months). One highlight for me was the free apple crumble every evening, which also helped getting into contact with you fellow guest & the staff. Good if you like it, and you don't have to if you don't.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Excursion773738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaPicton, Manager at The Villa Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Kia Ora Soren,

Great to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere! Especially the free apple crumble every night at 8 Pm. It is very disappointing to hear about the bed / mattress problem, we would love it if guests could advise us of these problems while they are here so we can easily get things fixed. I will be sending the staff around today testing the beds to try and find which bed you were in to replace the mattress!

Thanks for letting us know!

All the best for your travels,

Nga Mihi,
Josh Bramley
The Villa Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews