We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$48
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Agoda.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
97
79
41
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
79
41
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night queen charlotte track spa pool private room well equipped kitchen hostels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I loved my stay at the Villa, even though I didn't stay very long.
I had to check in after desk-hours, and the service worked out just fine and the personal was very friendly.
My room (mixed 4-bed-dorm) was simple, but it had everything I needed. The bathrooms were good, the only thing that sucked for me a little but was having to walk outside to get to a bathroom (and I was in NZ during the winter), but since a lot of hostels and lodges have that it wasn't too bad.
They also provided a simple yet free breakfast (what esle can a backpacker ask for, ey?!)
And I did see the hottubb, but didn't use it – again: wintertime ;)

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The Villa is a lovely backpackers with a real home like atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy. The decor is a little bit dated and would definitely benefit from a very light re-vamp. I would, however, stay again in a flash and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Picton.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillerQueen2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this lovely BBH... Everything is so made with love, you feel like on Christmasday at Grannys. In the evening we got apple crumble for free and even breakfast in the morning for free. The kitchen is very clean and there are enough bathrooms and toilettes. The living room with the warming fire invites for cheating with the others in the evening. The staff is very friendl and helpful.
The best Backpackers for a low-cost price!!!
Thanks for the wonderful atmophere and a great time.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The check-in service was okay I guess but the staff seemed too interested in talking and entertaining each other than they did with us or any of the other guests. We were greeted to off duty staff drinking and socialising in the hot tub, talking about which guys they're going to be with next and so on and so forth.

Parking seemed a bit of a problem, since I was leaving at 6am the following morning to catch the ferry I didn't want my car to be blocked in yet they seemed adamant that I had to park my car further up the drive to allow people to park behind me. If the other guests weren't catching the first ferry how would I be able to move their car in order to get mine out?

The room was average, just standard backpacker metal bunks, nothing fancy. The bathroom was slightly below average, clean enough but looked like it needed a bit of a makeover. Same goes for the kitchen, barely useable as there wasn't much in there. It looked like it had been robbed of all it's utensils and mugs. Drinking a brew out of a mug with a broken handle was a treat.

There are certainly worse hostels than this in NZ, but it's a long shot from being one of the best. Hopefully YHA will invest some money in this place because it has real potential to match it's charm.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JessMack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I spent 2 nights in June (winter) in this very cozy, full of character and comfortable place. Free apple crumble was served at 8 pm so everyone gathered in the fire heated living room. The hosts dropped me at the boat pier as it was raining. It's a really short distant walk from the pier, one street away from Picton's main street and harbour and right next to an amazing bakery :)

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews