We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really fun”
Review of E-Ko Tours

E-Ko Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide award-winning, wildlife and conservation focused guided cruises and dolphin swimming experiences through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. Those looking for the thrill of a lifetime can join us for our Dolphin Swim or View Experience or you could take part in our fully guided cruises to your choice of bird sanctuary islands or Historic Ship Cove. A clean green paradise of bush and sea full of natural beauty, history and wildlife is waiting to be explored and experienced. E-Ko Tours is Qualmark Enviro-Gold certified and the only local operator able to actively search for Dolphins. We provide degree qualified, professional guides on all our Tours.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 26 July 2017

such a good experience with really friendly staff members. saw lots of wild life and a good size group to be able to see everything going on

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank BrennaK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiki B, General Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Kia ora ,

Thanks for the positive feedback about the fun and great staff . We love showing of the wildlife and beautiful area which makes it fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 23 reviews
"fur seals"
in 22 reviews
"motuara island"
in 59 reviews
"hector dolphins"
in 25 reviews
"partial refund"
in 10 reviews
"cookies"
in 14 reviews
"dolphin viewing"
in 6 reviews
"wild animals"
in 7 reviews
"wildlife cruise"
in 4 reviews
"bird sanctuary"
in 17 reviews
"saw lots of wildlife"
in 5 reviews
"bottle nosed dolphins"
in 6 reviews
"great trip"
in 15 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 4 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 10 reviews
"marlborough sounds"
in 23 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 9 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Small group of people on the boat and the whole experience was extremely well done. We saw amazing bird and sea life.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank KiwiAm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, General Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thanks for your positive comments , small numbers and close up wildlife encounters is our speciality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

What a great trip out to see migrating whales in Cook Strait. When we got into Cook Strait I wondered how we were going to be able to see any whales as the area is so vast. But Paul had it covered with whale spotters up the hill and they saw two large whales quite quickly. They surfaced about 8 times close to the boat. What an awesome experience. We also went to the old whaling station which was great background information. Put this on your list. But they only migrate in winter so book in quick.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank ClarePinder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, General Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi Clare ,

Thanks for the great feed back and thanks for helping find the whales.It was a fantastic trip with dolphins and whales up close . Yes we re-lived what has been done here for over 150 years using our whale spotters on the hill to find the whales and then we go out to see them. Every year more whales are migrating past so this tour will also be able to operate for longer next season and we hope to see you again helping us find whales .The Cake you baked was delicious , thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

It's always lovely out in the sounds no matter what time of the year. Had a wonderful trip out to Motuara Island and the sounds where we saw lots of wildlife. The skipper providing a great commentary along the way. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank StevenPWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017

We went on the afternoon Motuara Island bird sanctuary tour from Picton. The E-Ko tours folks were fantastic - we got to see seals and shads and some penguins along the way and then spent a good amount of time on the island observing the local birds. They also told us a lot about the conservation activity (such as encouraging local plant species to repopulate).

And you can't beat tea and cookies on the trip back to port!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Gewurztraminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Kia Ora ,

Thanks for the positive feed back. We do love showing customers Motuara island and the Sounds Wildlife with a Guided experience as you get to enjoy it so much more . See you again sometime .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E-Ko Tours also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to E-Ko Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing