We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day dolphin swimming and viewing”
Review of E-Ko Tours

E-Ko Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide award-winning, wildlife and conservation focused guided cruises and dolphin swimming experiences through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. Those looking for the thrill of a lifetime can join us for our Dolphin Swim or View Experience or you could take part in our fully guided cruises to your choice of bird sanctuary islands or Historic Ship Cove. A clean green paradise of bush and sea full of natural beauty, history and wildlife is waiting to be explored and experienced. E-Ko Tours is Qualmark Enviro-Gold certified and the only local operator able to actively search for Dolphins. We provide degree qualified, professional guides on all our Tours.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I joined approximately 25 other people (including children) for a half day searching for dolphins to swim with. The weather was perfect and we were suited up by the lovely staff at the office before boarding the boat with the skipper and his boat hand. Both were very nice and helpful to all on board. We cruised around searching and had 4 drop points when we found dolphins. The viewing was fantastic as we found a lot of dolphins who were happy to come close to the boat. The swimming was fun and i had a few glimpses of the dolphins who became a little shy once we got in the water. Different to what i expected (i had visions of many dolphins swimming in and around the group) but still heaps of fun in the swim while we all made terrible music through our snorkles. Highly recommend for a good day out.

Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Kia ora ,

So nice to hear you enjoyed the tour .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"swim with the dolphins"
in 23 reviews
"hector dolphins"
in 25 reviews
"motuara island"
in 58 reviews
"fur seals"
in 21 reviews
"partial refund"
in 9 reviews
"cookies"
in 14 reviews
"dolphin viewing"
in 6 reviews
"common dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"bottle nose dolphins"
in 8 reviews
"bird sanctuary"
in 16 reviews
"saw lots of wildlife"
in 5 reviews
"new zealand"
in 24 reviews
"great trip"
in 15 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 9 reviews
"marlborough sounds"
in 21 reviews
"different species"
in 5 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 5 reviews
Filter

81 - 85 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

I've taken secondary school groups out with Eko Tours to look at whaling history and I've been out with my wife to the bird sanctuary. They offer a lot of options, including swimming with dolphins, and I like the conservation slant that the establishment has. Hot drink and cookies are usually served which is a nice touch

1  Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Kia ora ,

Thanks for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This was a really relaxing but informative day out. The boat was great, Paul (skipper) and David (guide) were laid back and friendly. In no time they had found a pod of 20 or so dolphins. No matter what you've heard, it is still a bit magical to have them swimming and leaping around you in the wild. David was a great guide ... even if he was a Brit! ... and it was good to see how passionate New Zealand is about conservation.

Thank Yorkshirelad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Ha, funny Yes David is a great guide and and good to see you found we are all passionate about our wild life , thanks for the review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Went on the dolphin swim/view tour in March 2017. The dolphins and scenery was great. The only drawback was the limitations placed on my partner and i as we were not swimmers but wildlife photographers. We were headed away, sometimes quite gruffly by our skipper, while the swimmers entered the water. There was only one small window to try and take photos and we were even herded away from that some of the time. When the swimming was over and we were viewing only, we were unable to get anywhere near a good photography position because the wet swimmers had all the best vantage points. I'm sure the swimmer had a wonderful trip but as photographers we were disappointed in our limited opportunities. Also, I have gone on trips with much friendlier staff.

Thank wildaboutaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello ,

Thanks for the feedback , glad you got to enjoy the dolphins and we always try to get viewers the best views possible . I sounds like on that day being at the front by the rails was where everyone wanted to be .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had a great afternoon on the boat! Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He had worked in some of reserves on the islands so had lots of information about the conservation project.
My sister at 18 isn't usually into birds or nature but had a really enjoyable time and found it very interesting.
The island itself has little blue penguin bird boxes and there is a gorgeous view from
the top of the sounds.
Also very impressed by the tea and coffee and biscuits on the boat given we had a bit of a windy day.
Would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Thank Izzy-4ilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Great to hear we got your sister enthusiastic about wildlife , thats our aim , thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E-Ko Tours also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to E-Ko Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing