We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Giants House
from US$54.82
More Info
from US$92.64
More Info
from US$12.23
More Info
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
1,050
170
40
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,050
170
40
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews josie martin entrance fee steep driveway mosaic art mosaic work amazing garden giant house alice in wonderland every corner every turn grand piano magical place per adult hard work take your time bed and breakfast well worth the visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

A beautiful day in Akaroa made even better by this visit to The Giants House. Wonderful art and also such a beautiful vibrant garden. Amazing.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank jontyjmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021

What an incredible place. Enjoyment for all ages. A bit disappointed that we couldn’t buy a small piece of pottery like the little eggs or flowers. We didn’t get to go in the house since we weren’t with a tour group. Maybe next time.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank wendy_kingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021

This is 1st an artists exhibition of mosaics, sculpture, and mixed media on a grand scale. All blended with an exquisite garden surround. AMAZING

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

The mosaics are amazing, especially the amount of time it took to create. So much attention to detail and really need to go around a couple of times to take it all in. The gardens were also beautiful and immaculate.
We really enjoyed our visit and this is a must do if visiting Akaroa.
Would have been nice to have been able to purchase some memorabilia such as mosaic items but have some great photos.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

When we rocked up here I wondered about the cost and value we might receive ($22.50 adults I think, and $20 for us oldies) but I worried unnecessarily - it was worth at least that! Unfortunately we'd left it late in the day (it closes at 4) so we only had 45 minutes to spend there, we could have spent hours! Absolutely amazing work by Josie Martin - hints of Gaudi and Hundertwasser but only hints, she is mistress of her own style. Difficult to pick out any specific pieces but her Adam and Eve and the piano on the front lawn would be hard to beat. Go as soon as you can and enjoy - kids will love it too. Cafe looked good but we were too late to try it!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews