We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual staff and scene”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez La Mer Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Staff members sleep in the same rooms as guests and have to come and go at night. My room was right next to a communal area where the staff hung out at night, smoking and drinking, and it was hard to fall asleep at around 2am with the smoke coming into my room and the laughter. Sorry to be a downer but it was just a lil strange. I felt like an intruder in the staff's space, because they sorta dominated the living and eating spaces and the guests were a little uncomfy. It's so cute and the location is great but I didn't feel that the atmosphere was what it could have been because of the protocol for staff.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladeedeedada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Chez La Mer Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed there two times and it is small but verry nice. I enjoyed my Time there and there are always really nice woffers. In Winter you can get a hot Water bottel and coffee is always on Board... So everything is there :) in Akaroa you can see the Hector Dolphines!!!

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Carolin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

very lovely and beautiful backpackers, with a nice garden and bbq place. fully equipped kitchen and warm living room. free unlimited wifi, clean and tidy room. the staffs were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aisze767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We are a family of four and just spent two nights in the hostel. It is very well situated, right in the center of Akaroa. There is parking on the road right in front of the hostel and a shopping place 2 minutes away. There is free wifi (500 MB/person), but if you need more you can ask.

We had booked a four bedroom dorm and on arrival were "upgraded" to a four bedroom with on suite. What we didn't realize was that there was a member of the staff sleeping in the room which was part of our room and she had to come into our bedroom to go to the bathroom which we shared with her. Now if you are in a dorm you meet the people and then there is a shared bathroom. This situation was weird for all four of us. We didn't know the person, but she could walk in and out of our room all the time.

We had no key for our room and we had to leave it open all the time.

The kitchen is very small for the number of people in the hostel. Yes, there are free spices, but most of them are empty. Yes there is free coffee and tea, but the coffee was always cold when I wanted to have a cup.

There is a lounge which is the only warm room in the hostel, but there is very little space to sit. Then there is another room with a piano and a round table, where we had to eat, since there was hardly any room in the kitchen.

The worst was however how cold the room was. Although we had an electric radiator it hardly warmed up the room. The quilts are thin so I went cold to bed and fell asleep being cold. The storage cupboards in the room were so worn that one door was only leaning against the cupboard.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjaHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

A lovely backpacker hostel, good for single travellers in a very pretty town. Full of nice people!

It also has free spices in the kitchen as well as towels and bikes to borrow. The beds are comfy, you get two pillows even in a dorm bed.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank LiviSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.0 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 24 in Akaroa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.3 km away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez La Mer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez La Mer Backpackers

Address: 50 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Banks Peninsula while staying in the heart of historic Akaroa. Enjoy free gourmet brewed coffee and tea. Relax in the tranquil garden, take one of the many area walks and kayak (or swim) with hector dolphins. Free mountain bikes and fishing rods. Heated rooms and fully made up beds. Owners offer special discounts to guests on their dolphin/wildlife sailing cruise aboard the Fox II. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing