We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, I-Site Center and Convenient Store nearby. Friendly staff. Free WIFI(limited)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez la Mer Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location, I-Site Center and Convenient Store nearby. Friendly staff. Free WIFI(limited)”
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My ensuite room is facing the main street of Akaroa. Since it is not peak season, it is not crowded and not noisy at night. Room is tiny but cozy. might have problem to open ur luggage if it is big. And the communal area and kitchen is just steps away. I could smell smoke from the kitchen even with door close. And that night, a bunch of backpackers r playing card and making noise till almost 11pm. Luckily I'm not somebody who is sleeping early too. So instead of staying in the room and can't get sleep, I sit in the communal area and surfing net. ^-^
Convenient location, I-Site and 4 Square is just around the corner. Some restaurant within walking distance too.
With heater. Hot bag were provided for additional warm if necessary. Full equipped kitchen. 500mb WIFI FREE. Nice postcard of the hotel for souvenir. Friendly staff.
Overall, I quite enjoy my stay here.

Room Tip: get room further away from kitchen and communal area, even i close my door i can still smell the smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
29
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

I had booked the queen ensuite room. Upon arrival, I was shown to the room by a friendly staff and was very impressed with the decor and overall warm and comfortable feeling of the place. The queen ensuite room also has a single bed, so the room is great for three guests. However, the space was not very large so opening large suitcases here would be tricky.

We were on the second floor, right next to the main road, so expect some level of noise, but it did not bother me at all. In fact I quite appreciated being able to see our car parked along the road outside and to watch the goings-on. It was a nice walk to the main part of town, where we could go for our meals. Along the way there were some souvenir shops, including a post office, which was great. There was also a convenience store nearby.

The ensuite was a bit small, with just enough room for one person at a time. The shower had great hot water, but seemed limited to use at one time (after a while, the water gradually became colder and colder).

The queen bed was super comfy. One of the best beds I've slept on.

We met other guests and everyone was really nice and friendly. As mentioned above, I love the overall warmth of the place - very welcoming and felt like home. I appreciated the small scale of this backpackers, which meant noise level was low and more privacy for everyone.

Stayed March 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dunmetiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2015

I really enjoyed my stay at this cute pink house. It's a bit small but charming. Everything is clean and there is a nice garden. Stuff is really nice and helpful. Gave me lots of tips what to do. Wifi is free and working well. Also it's close to supermarket and bus stop!

Stayed March 2015, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Annapu93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2015

This is a super little hostel - friendly and welcoming. It felt like a real community amongst the staff working here, all of whom were happy to give advice on things to do. We also got given home made cake by one of them!

Cooking was made so much easier by a great range of oils, herbs and spices available for free.

  • Stayed February 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

What a pretty in pink house. Clean, tidy, comfy beds, jolly multi national staff, great facilities - what's not to like! Throughly enjoyed my stay. Book early, they are busy for a very good reason! A highly recommended experience. Thank you all :)

Stayed February 2015
Helpful?
Thank Umami666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
97 reviews
0.0 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 24 in Akaroa
51 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez la Mer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez la Mer Backpackers

Property: Chez la Mer Backpackers
Address: 50 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price range (per night): $40
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Banks Peninsula while staying in the heart of historic Akaroa. Enjoy free gourmet brewed coffee and tea. Relax in the tranquil garden, take one of the many area walks and kayak (or swim) with hector dolphins. Free mountain bikes and fishing rods. Heated rooms and fully made up beds. Owners offer special discounts to guests on their dolphin/wildlife sailing cruise aboard the Fox II. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing