We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BRILLIANCE!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez la Mer Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Akaroa, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BRILLIANCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Meant to stay here for a week, Ended up staying and working for them for 6 months. Brilliant backpackers brilliant people. Akaroa is a beautiful town and a chez la mer is an outstanding backpackers. Sara the manager is welcoming and friendly and genuinly cares about her guests and does as much as she can too help there needs. The kitchens/bathrooms/rooms are cleaned daily. There is no t.v. in this hostel which i think is brilliant and the lounge area invites social interaction. If you come too new zealand and dont stay here you are seriously missing out. There is parking on street at both sides of the premisis so there is no worry about parking at all. The mountain bikes are well maintained and fishing rods that are all free too use. I wont forget my time at chez la mer and urge anyone who can too stay here!

Room Tip: Ensuite dorms are better in summer (max of 5 people using your shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    46
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
29
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I managed to obtain a room at 9am in the morning at short notice. The staff were really friendly and accommodating. The place was welcoming and clean. What was great was that they had mountain bikes (pretty new and good condition) with helmets that you can use at no additional cost! This was brilliant as you would have to hire bikes at other outdoor centres. Great way to explore Akaroa which is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tot_of_rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mold
Level Contributor
530 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

booked this from the uk on the web so you never know what you are going to get til you get there but this was easily findable on the main street with on street parking.
we had the front room on the ground flooor, quite and well maintained with a hot shower.
small but intimate kitchen and living room
hosts and guests really friendly
it could have been a house party
unfortunatly going early december there was not many trips running

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Wonderful house and relaxed garden, it is just a bit 'pink'. I liked the calm of the kitchen on the 1st floor over the crowded ground floor kitchen, though both are well equipped with spices etc. I stayed in a private room with colorful bed linen, the only disadvantage was a crack in the door which let me hear everything as if my door was open. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you plan to go sailing you can book via staff and get a discount on the owners sailing boat. Rather younger people there.

I just wondered why the doors of all dorm rooms were continuously open and the rooms accessible for everybody - you wouldn't recognize a thief from his looks, so try to minimize the risk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

after nearly four months of traveling I needed a break, stayed in this backpackers and LOVED it! they've got a lovely backyard with hammock and BBQ... so, the best place to be when it's warm enough. but even when it's cold you can sit in the cozy living room and enjoy the log fire. the beds have Two pillows and enough hot water bottles provided for everyone. Sara, the manager, is always there for every of your questions and if not there is a good replacement available. the free bicycles, wifi and fishing rods made it perfect. hope you will visit this wonderful place and enjoy it as much as I did.
do you love animals? then I've got another reason to go there. Jean-Claude the hostelsheep and Pongo or Samson the two dogs are around sometimes and love to be petted :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auflauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 23 in Akaroa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez la Mer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez la Mer Backpackers

Property: Chez la Mer Backpackers
Address: 50 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price range (per night): $40
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Banks Peninsula while staying in the heart of historic Akaroa. Enjoy free gourmet brewed coffee and tea. Relax in the tranquil garden, take one of the many area walks and kayak (or swim) with hector dolphins. Free mountain bikes and fishing rods. Heated rooms and fully made up beds. Owners offer special discounts to guests on their dolphin/wildlife sailing cruise aboard the Fox II. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing