We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with Character”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez La Mer Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Historic building with loads of charm. Good value for Akaroa. Queen room was ensuite. Very clean throughout, friendly staff, and great bed. Very pretty garden and outdoor patios. Free WiFi. Located in the french town within Akaroa. Attracts a good mix of people.

Room Tip: Both the ensuites are very good value.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Chez La Mer Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Nice room, pretty comfortable for a hostel and the price, kitchen could be a little bit cleaner, but beautiful garden and very nice and friendliy staff at the reception! We love Akaroa and if we come back we will stay again in the very pink "chez la mer"!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet881940538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have been travelling in New Zealand for over four months now. This is, hands down, probably the cutest place I have come across so far. Very nice and helpful staff, two really well equipped kitchens and a garden to die for. They even have a hammock!! :) And the beds (I stayed in one of the dorms) are quite comfy as well.
I read about problems with showers on tripadvisor before but I have to disagree, no problems for me there...
To put it in a nutshell: when you are going to Akaroa, there is no better place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitraveller_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2013. We booked it based on price mainly, $80 a night for an ensuite double is pretty good.

The room is small (just inside front door on right), and the shower is not great, but for $80 it's as good as you will get.

The shared kitchen is small but clean, and free coffee in the morning was a nice perk.

The garden is nice with plenty of private seating and a hammock.

The whole property is dated and old fashioned, and has no credit card/eftpos facilities so its cash only.

The two nights was the most we would have stayed here and we weren't sad leaving.

Room Tip: Ensuite room just inside the front door is away from other rooms, the other ensuite room is upstairs...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

on arrival greeted with a smile from a lovely young lady, very helpful and pleasant.
Twin room upstairs was adequate for us, clean and tidy.
Highlight was the relaxing garden that had little hideaways and character where we enjoyed a glass or two of wine. This place really is for the traveler and im sure will assist anyone touring NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moosemethven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.0 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 24 in Akaroa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.3 km away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez La Mer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez La Mer Backpackers

Address: 50 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty of the Banks Peninsula while staying in the heart of historic Akaroa. Enjoy free gourmet brewed coffee and tea. Relax in the tranquil garden, take one of the many area walks and kayak (or swim) with hector dolphins. Free mountain bikes and fishing rods. Heated rooms and fully made up beds. Owners offer special discounts to guests on their dolphin/wildlife sailing cruise aboard the Fox II. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing