We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome experience

Had a wonderful time. The tour guide was very friendly and informative, the Alpaca’s were so cute... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
georgiaxrobertson
Alapaca Cuddles

What a wonderful visit we had with the beautiful Lydia and her Alpacas. Her passion for the Alpacas... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
RJmes
,
Murrays Bay, New Zealand
Read all 158 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from US$67.30
More Info
from US$164.60
More Info
from US$97.55
More Info
from US$74.28
More Info
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
140
12
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
12
2
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby alpacas friendly alpacas must visit place sight to behold informative tour beautiful animals steep drive delicious cookies close encounter friendly guide amazing afternoon new zealand family business highlight of our trip well worth the trip biscuits great tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful visit we had with the beautiful Lydia and her Alpacas. Her passion for the Alpacas and her knowledge of her charges made for a really lovely tour. We greatly recommend spending some time at Shamarra!!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank RJmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, thank you so much for sharing this review of your time at Shamarra Alpaca Farm!

It's great to hear that you had a wonderful visit to our farm! Our guides are so passionate about our alpacas and love making our visitor's experience a memorable one! We are happy to hear that you would recommend a visit to our farm.

Thank you again. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back soon
The Shamarra Alpaca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Certainly worth a visit and we were lucky enough to have the delightful Lydia to show us all her favourite Alpacas. She was so knowledgeable and knew them all by name and their different habits. Beware the shop - a reasonably priced tour ended up very expensive when including a beautiful rug I couldn't resist!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, thank you so much for sharing this review of your time at Shamarra Alpaca Farm!

It's so good to hear that you had a great visit getting to spend time with all of the unique alpacas we have on our farm! Our guides are so passionate and knowledgeable about our fluffy friends, and love how they are all so individual too!

Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon,
The Shamarra Alpaca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Just a short drive from Akaroa, the Shamarra Alpaca farm is a must do. The view from the farm is stunning, and the tour gets you up close and personal with LOTS of alpacas of all ages, colours and temperaments.....yes even the babies. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 2BAKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, thank you so much for sharing this review of your time at Shamarra Alpaca Farm!

It truly does feel like heaven when you are surrounded by all the cute, friendly, and funny alpacas we have at our farm! The fantastic views, knowledgeable guides, and awesome alpacas all make for a great experience!

Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon,
The Shamarra Alpaca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

We loved this visit with all the alpacas, lots of cuddles and photos. Good value for money, knowledgeable staff, and friendly alpacas!

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank annies173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, thank you so much for sharing this review of your time at Shamarra Alpaca Farm!

It's great to hear that you had a lovely time at our farm! Our alpacas love all the cuddles they get and are always wanting more! We pride ourselves on our knowledgeable staff and the great experience they help provide for our visitors!

Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon,
The Shamarra Alpaca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021

What a fun experience! It’s so cool getting up close and personal with the friendly alpacas. Well worth the trip to Akaroa for the views and experience. Lydia was a fantastic guide.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time and will definitely be back!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank OscarRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, thank you so much for sharing this review of your time at Shamarra Alpaca Farm!

We are so glad you had a fun experience at our farm! Our guides are so passionate and love sharing their knowledge with everyone. We love seeing our visitors have a great time with our fluffy friends!

Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon,
The Shamarra Alpaca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews