We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful walk

Had an amazing time on the hike. It had different terrain everyday, challenging sections all with... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 days ago
AmandaHare11
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Bank Track, just great

I did it 25 years ago. And now the 3rd time. It is still just great. Upsolutely top that it is... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
sugoiwagyu
Read all 345 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from $110.00
More Info
from $219.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
298
45
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
298
45
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stony bay penguin tour great walk beech forest day hike outdoor bath great accommodation private room land owners fellow walkers challenging walk walking times varied scenery walking poles the cottages side trips wee shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2022

We walked early in the season knowing the weather might be suspect. One lovely day, one of rain and then the snow stopped us in our tracks… Bussed out. The staff were all lovely and helpful. We’d booked private rooms which were worth it - though unheated in Stony Bay (be warned!).
A great track, easy to follow. Can be windy and exposed in places. Great views. Loved the penguins at Flea Bay!
Would have been fantastic to have had the booklet in advance.
Huts well equipped. And a bonus to be able to buy some provisions. Really good to have packs carried. Take full advantage of this!
Stony Bay super cute accommodation. Baby seals and lambs made it extra special.

Date of experience: October 2022
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank toby253
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriciaH600, marketing at Banks Track, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2022

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your Banks Track Experience, and yes, lambs and seal pups are a bonus of walking in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed the entire work. The accommodation was comfortable, clean, and well equipped.
The booklet was very informative and a helpful guide for each days walk.
Loved the shop at Stone Bay and very helpful given we got snowed in.
It would have been helpful to have track information by 8am. Communication between the 3 sites was slow and lacking real detail. Thank you for being so accommodating. Walking out via the road between Stone bay and Akaroa is very doable.

Date of experience: October 2022
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank vwalice4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriciaH600, marketing at Banks Track, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2022

Thanks for your five star review.
The heavy snowfall you experienced was a very unusual event, we do get snow but that amount was a novelty.
We are pleased you liked the guide and found it informative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2022

Amazing panoramic views, great company, accommodation and facilities were exceptional. Ability to have bags taken from hut to hut a real bonus. Wildlife galore as well. A challenge, but doable and enjoyable.

Date of experience: April 2022
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank brownbruce515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriciaH600, Marketing at Banks Track, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

We really appreciate your five star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2022

The views, the accommodation, the organisational ease of this 3 day walk makes this one of my absolute favourite adventures.

Date of experience: April 2022
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriciaH600, Marketing at Banks Track, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Thanks for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Fantastic scenery. Accomodation was great. Well worth doing. It’s not an easy walk with lots of uphill grunts but well worth the effort

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank Q2318EVlizc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TriciaH600, Marketing at Banks Track, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2022

Thanks for your five star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews