We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Akaroa Dolphins
from US$67.13
More Info
Reviews (2,156)
Filter reviews
2,156 results
Traveller rating
2,061
80
9
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,061
80
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies dolphin dog great trip complimentary drinks fur seals sea birds boat trip bird life two hours saw seals interesting commentary beautiful scenery new zealand great morning local knowledge buster board
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 2,156 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I went on my trip to new zealand and had such an amazing time!we saw dolphins, a penguin, tons of seals and plenty of beautiful views and also got a complimentary drink and cookie! All of the crew were fantastic and were so knowledgeable!! I highly recommend this activity if you visit Akaroa!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks Carrie! I am so happy to hear you had an amazing time. Thank you for recommending us it is so very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

On the morning tour we saw a group of 20+ dolphins, seals and penguins and second afternoon trip we saw plenty of pairs and smaller groups of dolphins throughout the trip. Great dolphin spotting dogs! very cute and friendly. They gave us a free dog magnet because we liked him so much. Morning and afternoon tours both fantastic! The boat is really nice too. Thank you Akaroa Dophins.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank EdenB220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for this lovely review as well as the one one you wrote on Facebook. It was a pleasure having you on board. We hope you had a safe trip back to Wellington. Come back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

What an Amazing day on the boat with Mark and Aommy
We came last friday and it was just WOW, no word everything was perfect from A to Z
We definitely will recommanded it to all our friends, family and also customers as we work in hospitality.
Thanks again for this perfect day
We ll see you again in January with lot of pleasure

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank BeTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

You just made my morning, thank you! We look forward to seeing you again in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Captain Mark was very professional and very informative about local landmarks, history and their wildlife. We not only saw many Hector’s dolphins there were also a penguin, fur seals, albatrosses and multiple sea birds. They have a dog on board who is able to hear the dolphins clicking to each other, so you just needed to watch the dog to know where the dolphins are. Cold beverages are offered including wine! What else do you need for a perfect cruise?

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank fourbeesplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Mark has been with us for over 10 years and just loves what he does. I will definitely be showing him your review! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

My husband and I loved this tour. The captain/guide was very informative, and his wife was helpful and treated us to delicious cookies at the end of the tour. The captain was skilled finding dolphins and encouraging them to accompany the boat, and he also guided us to areas with other animals - two little blue penguins, seals, and scags and other seabirds. The tour included local history, regional geology, and weather. Buster the sonar locator dog was so charming! We highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Maryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Love the title of this review :) Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews