We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip”
Review of Akaroa Dolphins

Akaroa Dolphins
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Let our crew, including our dolphin spotting dogs, take you on a journey of discovery. Enjoy the fascinating history and amazing wildlife of Banks Peninsula aboard our stylish vessels; 'Into the Blue' and 'Akaroa Dolphin'. Highlights of our cruises include the rare Hector's dolphins, New Zealand fur seals, penguins, seabirds, spectacular sea caves and volcanic formations. We give you an intimate and luxurious experience, starting with home baking and complimentary drinks, including local award-winning wine, beer and soft drink when you step aboard. Our 100% locally owned and operated team will show you the Peninsula like only a local can. Experience why we’re winners of the Champion Canterbury Business Award for Tourism in 2015, Rankers winner of Dolphin Watching Experience in 2013, and ranked Number 1 on TripAdvisor for Boat Tours in New Zealand. Our track record for offering an unforgettable nature cruise experience speaks for itself.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Went out on the morning trip. Saw loads of dolphins, seals, birds, penguins. We were really impressed with the staff, buster the dog and the boat itself. One of the best trips we've been on while travelling around New Zealand.

Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Awesome Maria! 'One of the best trips we've been on while travelling around New Zealand'...What an honour to hear that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin dog"
in 65 reviews
"cookies"
in 250 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 78 reviews
"complimentary drinks"
in 27 reviews
"fur seals"
in 106 reviews
"great trip"
in 90 reviews
"stew"
in 15 reviews
"home baking"
in 14 reviews
"sea birds"
in 75 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 32 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 33 reviews
"salmon farm"
in 20 reviews
"saw seals"
in 47 reviews
"a nice touch"
in 23 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 38 reviews
"great commentary"
in 32 reviews
"family run"
in 18 reviews
Filter

397 - 401 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I went on my trip to new zealand and had such an amazing time!we saw dolphins, a penguin, tons of seals and plenty of beautiful views and also got a complimentary drink and cookie! All of the crew were fantastic and were so knowledgeable!! I highly recommend this activity if you visit Akaroa!

Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks Carrie! I am so happy to hear you had an amazing time. Thank you for recommending us it is so very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

On the morning tour we saw a group of 20+ dolphins, seals and penguins and second afternoon trip we saw plenty of pairs and smaller groups of dolphins throughout the trip. Great dolphin spotting dogs! very cute and friendly. They gave us a free dog magnet because we liked him so much. Morning and afternoon tours both fantastic! The boat is really nice too. Thank you Akaroa Dophins.

Thank EdenB220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for this lovely review as well as the one one you wrote on Facebook. It was a pleasure having you on board. We hope you had a safe trip back to Wellington. Come back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

What an Amazing day on the boat with Mark and Aommy
We came last friday and it was just WOW, no word everything was perfect from A to Z
We definitely will recommanded it to all our friends, family and also customers as we work in hospitality.
Thanks again for this perfect day
We ll see you again in January with lot of pleasure

Thank BeTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

You just made my morning, thank you! We look forward to seeing you again in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Captain Mark was very professional and very informative about local landmarks, history and their wildlife. We not only saw many Hector’s dolphins there were also a penguin, fur seals, albatrosses and multiple sea birds. They have a dog on board who is able to hear the dolphins clicking to each other, so you just needed to watch the dog to know where the dolphins are. Cold beverages are offered including wine! What else do you need for a perfect cruise?

Thank fourbeesplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaDolphins, Owner at Akaroa Dolphins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Mark has been with us for over 10 years and just loves what he does. I will definitely be showing him your review! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Dolphins also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing