We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Black Cat Cruises
from US$62.94
More Info
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveller rating
1,112
215
40
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,112
215
40
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise hector dolphins hectors dolphins fur seals akaroa harbour great cruise hour cruise two hours great commentary comfortable boat bird life skipper crew refund wildlife board scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

What an amazing family day excursion. The kids and adults loved all the knowledgeable information from our captain Daniel. And of course the highlight for all were the Hector’s dolphins ! We also liked riding the waves at the front of the boat . Not to big the captain made sure it was safe. Would definitely recommend this to families with kids.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank LeanneCassieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021

Two hours on a comfortable boat with excellent commentary and friendly helpful staff.
We saw Hector dolphins, little blue penguins, fur seals and albatross and many other sea birds.
Well worth the price.
Very informative and interesting

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank dramaqueen42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

Great excursion! Just 2 hour drive each way from Christchurch so can be a great day trip if not staying in Akaroa. Highlight seeing the Hector Dolphins and bonus seeing seals too! Great company who also provides intetesting information along the way!
Fresh wind so take warm layers if you want to be outside on the boat

Date of experience: March 2021
1  Thank chocaholic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Currently living on a gorgeous lake, I was also looking forward to getting out on the sea in Akaroa.
From Sonja's welcome at the check-in desk - with Easter egg surprises, rabbit ears that made me laugh and a genuine smile and lust for life and customer service, she helped this trip start off so well.
Hamish on commentary was also excellent - dry-humoured, knowledgeable and able to keep up our interest as we searched for different animals/birds/dolphins and he had the skill of keeping things lively.
We are happy you had a boat full of people (busy Easter weekend) and that we felt welcome.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank janellefletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi janellefletcher,

Thanks for the lovely review of our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise and for your kind words about our team! Sonya and Hamish will absolutely love hearing that they made you feel so welcome on the day! Thanks again for choosing to cruise with us and we do hope that you will be able visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

This 2 hour cruise is informative about the wildlife, birdlife and geological features of the Akaroa Harbour. For your comfort there in inside and outside seating, blankets for the chilly wind and outside seating. It was fascinating and we did see the rare Hectors dolphins and harbour seals. Well worth the time and cost.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank Stirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi Stirg,

Thank you for your review of our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip and all the lovely elements of nature that come with it. We hope you will be able to visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews