We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sur la mer - On the Ocean

Currently living on a gorgeous lake, I was also looking forward to getting out on the sea in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
janellefletcher
,
Wanaka, New Zealand
Black Cat Harbour and Wildlife Cruise

This 2 hour cruise is informative about the wildlife, birdlife and geological features of the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Stirg
,
Christchurch, NZ
Read all 1,432 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from US$67.64
More Info
from US$98.03
More Info
from US$98.03
More Info
from US$56.56
More Info
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
1,106
215
40
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,106
215
40
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise hector dolphins hectors dolphins fur seals akaroa harbour swimming with dolphins great cruise hour cruise hot chocolate informative commentary new zealand sea birds amazing experience saw dolphins two hours the pacific ocean open sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Great cruise! Excellent skipper and narrator during the cruise. Saw a penguin, hector dolphins, birds nesting, seals. Suggest you sit at the front of the boat as the dolphins on our trip seemed to play at the front. Take warm clothing even in summer.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank triciad108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi triciad108,

Thanks for your review and great advice! We hope you will be able to visit us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020 via mobile

Awesome morning on the water, which delivered all that was promised - including a dolphin pod with calves. Awesome!

The cruise experience was the more special for us because the it took place even though we were the only two passengers on board. Impressive commitment to service by Black Cat Cruises.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank pretcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi pretcnz,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you got to see some baby dolphins!! We are looking forward to some busy days in the future but we are still grateful for the few visitors that we are receiving. Thanks again and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Huge thanks to Black Cat Cruises team for this magic day in the ocean We’ve got so lucky to see many dolphins in wild nature and unbelievable beautiful scenery ! Dolphins are amazing and you never know if they are going to show up but they came to say hello to us ,pure paradise We are extremely happy to be able to have boat trip like this in Akaroa ❤️

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank ValentynaVelidchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi ValentynaVelidchenko,

Your are so welcome and thank YOU for writing such an awesome review of our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise! We love taking our guests out on the water to show them what an amazing place this is. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

A good briefing, helped into wetsuits & out on the water within half an hour.
Take sea sickness tablets if you usually feel sick, 3 people threw up on our boat.
Saw a few dolphins in 2’s & 3’s, and saw some babies.
Got in the water at one stage but the dolphins didn’t stick around.
Because we didn’t literally swim with the dolphins we got a partial refund which was nice. Lovely people to deal with.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank karentL5898RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi karentL5898RC,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your excursion with us out on the water. We are more than pleased to hear that you were able to view the rare and beautiful Hectors Dolphins even though the conditions may have been a bit bumpy. We hope that one day you will be able to return and have an even closer experience in the water with these wonderful beings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

We got a cheap deal on bookme, it was definitely worth it! The crew (Hamish & Helen) were great, friendly and full of knowledge. We saw heaps of dolphins, a few seals and lots of birds. Would highly recommend this team to anyone looking for a cruise around Akaroa.

Thank BonnieBorowczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

Hi BonnieBorowczyk,

It's awesome to hear that you got such a great deal for our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise and it's even more awesome that you got to see so much of the beautiful wildlife that lives here. Thanks for your recommendation and we hope you will be able to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews