We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Black Cat Cruises
from US$64.19
More Info
from US$67.76
More Info
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveller rating
1,108
215
40
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,108
215
40
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise hector dolphins hectors dolphins fur seals akaroa harbour swimming with dolphins great cruise hour cruise hot chocolate informative commentary new zealand amazing experience saw dolphins two hours the pacific ocean open sea sea life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2020

A 2 hour cruise packed full of information by the skipper, who was very friendly and full of knowledge about the local area. You get free tea and coffee, map of the harbour in 6 languages. On our cruise we saw Hectors Dolphins and lots of Fur seals. Wrap up warm if its a windy day as you do get a bit of sea spray. The scenery is stunning and the Catamaran was large enough for everyone to move about. The whole experience was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Good value for money and would highly recommend anyone to do this cruise. Akaroa is a beautiful township with lots going on. The Black Cat Cruises operate from the main wharf with a great shop to have a nosey around in. Nice products in there and very helpful/friendly staff.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Explore33983631731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2020

Hi Sammy And Stu,

Thank you for your generous review and for your kind words about our skipper and the rest of our team. Our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise is a product that we are very proud of and we really appreciate you noticing what a wonderful place we have here. Sharing this beautiful scenery and wildlife as well as spreading the knowledge that comes with it is our pleasure. Thanks once again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2020

We drove here to Akaroa from Christchurch, which in itself was a really nice trip with stunning views. On arrival we were sent of to get fitted into out wet suites and then out onto the boat. At all times all the staff were very helpful and nice. We left the Quay and headed out to look for the Dolphins. Over the hour to two hours we were out there the skipper took the boat to varying places and once when we had found the Dolphins we stopped. There was quite a swell that day and though we saw lots of Dolphins, we were not always allowed into the water as they had small babies with them )I was very impressed with this attitude by the crew). We did get in a couple of times, but didn't get a decent swim with them, so they gave us some money back. We still really enjoyed our trip and it was great seeing these small Dolphins in the wild. Would highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Voyager560420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Hi Voyager560420,

Thank you for choosing Black Cat Cruises to introduce you to Akaroa Harbour and the wonderful Hectors Dolphins. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. It is very important to us that all of our trips are fun, safe and sensitive to the nature that surrounds us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely cruise of the Harbor. The captain was very experienced at spotting and attracting the wildlife. He'd play with the engines to churn the water to encourage the dolphins to play nearby. At one point we had 13 dolphins swimming around the boat. We saw penguins, seal pups, orange krill and a jelly fish. The captain was informative and entertaining without talking too much. The woman working below was helpful with my daughter who was dealing with motion sickness.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Chocolateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Hi Chocolateer,

Thank you for your great review and for your kind words about our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise. We are proud to say that our skippers are professional and dedicated to providing an entertaining, informative and safe trip for our guests all the while manoeuvring the boat to maximize viewing potential (hence the churn of the engines). Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We had a great time with Black Cat. We weren’t able to swim with the dolphins but saw them close up and had fun trying. We received a partial refund because we didn’t swim with the dolphins which was unexpected. Had a great time and would definitely recommend this excursion.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank bev185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi Bev185, thanks very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a great time despite not being able to get in the water with the dolphins. I hope you can join us again in Akaroa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

We had a great time on our trip to swim with the dolphins even though we didn’t get the full experience and had some of our money refunded! The folks at Black Cat are great and make the experience a lot of fun. We were thrilled just to be able to float off the coast in New Zealand!
Would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi GKimb, thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a fab time out in the water, we really hope you can join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews