We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sur la mer - On the Ocean

Currently living on a gorgeous lake, I was also looking forward to getting out on the sea in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
janellefletcher
,
Wanaka, New Zealand
Black Cat Harbour and Wildlife Cruise

This 2 hour cruise is informative about the wildlife, birdlife and geological features of the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Stirg
,
Christchurch, NZ
Read all 1,432 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from US$66.16
More Info
from US$95.89
More Info
from US$95.89
More Info
from US$55.32
More Info
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
1,106
215
40
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,106
215
40
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise hector dolphins fur seals akaroa harbour swimming with dolphins great cruise hot chocolate informative commentary new zealand sea birds amazing experience saw dolphins two hours the pacific ocean hour trip open sea comfortable boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely cruise of the Harbor. The captain was very experienced at spotting and attracting the wildlife. He'd play with the engines to churn the water to encourage the dolphins to play nearby. At one point we had 13 dolphins swimming around the boat. We saw penguins, seal pups, orange krill and a jelly fish. The captain was informative and entertaining without talking too much. The woman working below was helpful with my daughter who was dealing with motion sickness.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Chocolateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2020

Hi Chocolateer,

Thank you for your great review and for your kind words about our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise. We are proud to say that our skippers are professional and dedicated to providing an entertaining, informative and safe trip for our guests all the while manoeuvring the boat to maximize viewing potential (hence the churn of the engines). Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We had a great time with Black Cat. We weren’t able to swim with the dolphins but saw them close up and had fun trying. We received a partial refund because we didn’t swim with the dolphins which was unexpected. Had a great time and would definitely recommend this excursion.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank bev185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi Bev185, thanks very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a great time despite not being able to get in the water with the dolphins. I hope you can join us again in Akaroa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

We had a great time on our trip to swim with the dolphins even though we didn’t get the full experience and had some of our money refunded! The folks at Black Cat are great and make the experience a lot of fun. We were thrilled just to be able to float off the coast in New Zealand!
Would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi GKimb, thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a fab time out in the water, we really hope you can join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Black Cat deliver a fantastic tour which I highly recommend. Over the course of two hours we saw multiple dolphins, fur seals and one penguin and we received fantastic commentary on the area and the formation of the caves and inlets. Our family of five loved the experience.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Belsara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

HI Belsara19, thanks very much for your review on TripAdvisor! So glad you had such a great time with our team on the Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise - sounds like you saw so much of our fantastic Akaroa wildlife! We hope you can all join us again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Friendly and helpful crew led by the wonderful Kate. Saw dolphins, penguins (which apparently are rare but on that day there were quite a few) and seals. The only thing I would recommend is taking binoculars for the seals (not that near) and the penguins (very small!).

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank TamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi TamKL, thanks so much for taking the time to write us review on your tour! I've certainly pass your lovely feedback on to Kate - she'll be thrilled! Great recommendation about bringing binoculars, awesome idea! We hope to see you out with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews