We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Black Cat Cruises
from US$64.19
More Info
from US$67.76
More Info
Reviews (1,434)
Filter reviews
1,434 results
Traveller rating
1,108
215
40
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,108
215
40
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature cruise hector dolphins hectors dolphins fur seals akaroa harbour swimming with dolphins great cruise hour cruise hot chocolate informative commentary new zealand amazing experience saw dolphins two hours the pacific ocean open sea sea life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,434 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

We had a very informed and professional setting up and ride to the dolphins along with sightings and a few dolphins came alongside. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because of the passengers that spoil't it (the made noise in the water on 2 locations and the Hectors disappeared. They gave us a refund, but damage done. The little we saw was exciting.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Tonyp4357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi Tonyp4357, thanks very much for your review. We apologise that your trip didn't quite meet your expectation but sounds like you still had a great time out there! We hope you are able to come and join on another tour in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

It seemed like quite a lot of money to pay for a trip out of Akaroa for a 2 hour nature cruise, but boy, did this trip deliver!
The skipper was informative and charming throughout. He was also extremely deft at spotting wildlife and handling the boat so delicately in the ocean swell that we got up very close to both the cliffs and to the wildlife
I don’t know if we were lucky, but in a two hour trip we saw penguins, very many dolphins which did indeed swim under the bows, fur seals and wonderful birdlife. Akaroa harbour itself is also SO beautiful from the sea.

We also visited the extraordinary volcanic formations in the local cliffs and caves, including impressive blowholes out on the ocean cliffs.
I can only say it was a wonderful experience and worth every penny.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Fredthefiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi Fredthefiddle, thanks so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a fantastic trip and you got to see so many dolphins! We agree that Akaroa is so beautiful! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Spectacular scenery and we saw lots of dolphins as well as penguins and fur seals. This was on our bucket list and we were extremely happy with the experience.

24  Thank Toni-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi Toni-Wayne, thanks so much for your review on TripAdvisor. So wonderful you got to tick of something on your bucket list - thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

We completely enjoyed our cruise in the harbor. There was plenty of room on the boat - we stayed up front with room to stand and sit. We saw blue penguins, a couple of seals, and lots of Hector's dolphins. The commentary was informative and ongoing throughout the cruise. Overcast skies meant we didn't have to worry about the sun beating down on us. Staff in the office and on the boat were friendly and professional. This is a great excursion for a few hours in a really interesting corner of the world.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank johnandleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

Hi johnandleew, thanks very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you had a wonderful day out on the water! We hope you can come and join us over in Akaroa one day in the future! Thanks for your lovely comments on our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We have lived in Kenya and travelled to most of the game parks. We have been to Alaska, the High Artic and Antartica. We are well aware that wildlife spotting cannot be guaranteed but in most cases, guides know where wildlife and even sea life MIGHT be found. Consequently, when a crew member was asked if she knew the LIKELY whereabouts one might site dolphins, one does not expect to be told,"in the ocean"and that "they are free to swim anywhere." A shadow of a dolphin was spotted beneath the bow and the captain announced "that ticks off that box". The whole attitude appeared to be, "let's travel to the port entrance and back as quickly as possible". We booked this excursion on a Cunard cruise and a similar one in Dunedin with Monarch cruises. The latter had excellent crew, who were very attentive and good at spotting sealife. We are all provided with binoculars and the captain took great trouble, in choppy waters , manoeuvring his vessel to best advantage for his passengers. We have lodged a complaint about the Black Cat excursion with Cunard and recommended that they advise customers to take the Monarch cruise in Dunedin instead.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Greynomad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackCat_NZ, Manager at Black Cat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi Greynomad_10, thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that our Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise did not meet your expectation. We sincerely apologise for the comments made by our crew, on this occasion they were trying to be humorous but it has caused a miscommunication and resulted in a negative experience for you. Our management team have spoken to the staff involved and again we apologise that you had a bad experience with us. We hope you are able to come back to Akaroa one day and experience the tour again so you can see it in a positive light as we hope all our wonderful passengers do. We hope you enjoyed the rest of our trip around New Zealand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews