We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
424
214
65
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
214
65
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews former convent historic building beautiful hotel superior room steeped in history pestana group private car park inner courtyard charming town pool area breakfast was excellent bath shower hotel restaurant reception desk a wonderful stay plenty of loungers within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

No idea why most tourists spend their holidays in these enormous ghettos like Lagos, Portimão, Albufeira or Vilamoura.
Millions of people go there every summer, and this is really a reason for me NOT to visit these places in high season.

Tavira is a very pretty place in the eastern part of Algarve, between Faro and the Spanish border.
Architecturally Tavira has to offer a lot, I absolutely loved it to stroll around here. And it is much more quiet here than in all the places around Albufeira...

The gem of all hotels in Tavira is undoubtedly the Pousada! I dare to say that this hotel for me is „a dream in yellow“. The yellow walls transmit serenity and a positive feeling from the moment you step in there.
For me everything at this Pousada was extremely nice and sympathetic. On this 30 days trip around Portugal I saw 18 Pousadas all around the country. The one in Tavira for sure is among my „Top 5“. It is a most lovely property!
Public areas of the hotel are very beautiful, look neat and stylish, as well as classy. The architecture is admirable, there is a wonderful pátio, manicured gardens with wonderful plants, a nice swimming pool and gazebos around where you can relax.

I do strongly recommend this Pousada in any aspect, because I loved Tavira as a place, and I loved the Pousada as a hotel from where to discover all the beauties of this area of Algarve.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Good morning
We thank you for your preference for the the Historic Hotel Pousada Convento da Graça, Tavira, which deserves our utmost attention.
The staff is very proud about your comments, and to be able to satisfy your expectations about us.
It is with words such as these which motivate us on a daily basis and helps us to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to be able to continue to welcome you, and look forward to see you again in Pousada Tavira.

Kind regards,
Paulo Ramos Silva
Director Zona | Complex Manager
Pousadas Região Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

A pleasant oasis in the town of Tavira. Walking distance to just about everywhere. Staff recommended a restaurant across the river that was excellent. Good breakfast in a historic plaza within the posada. I highly recommend using GPS if you are driving to the hotel. The town is full of charming one-way cobblestone streets that were apparently originally designed for donkey carts. You can take a ferry to Tavira beach. We decided to drive a short distance to Barril beach for a pleasant day on the sand. Warm clear water was a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Randy--Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Good morning
We thank you for your preference for the the Historic Hotel Pousada Convento da Graça, Tavira, which deserves our utmost attention.
The staff is very proud about your comments, and to be able to satisfy your expectations about us.
It is with words such as these which motivate us on a daily basis and helps us to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to be able to continue to welcome you, and look forward to see you again in Pousada Tavira.

Kind regards,
Paulo Ramos Silva
Director Zona | Complex Manager
Pousadas Região Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We stayed in better hotel but you had to drive everywhere . At Pousada you can walk into not best town on Algarve.Great staff and poolNeed more imaginative dinner menu and need to ban smoking in outdoor public places

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank BrassoNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Good morning
We thank you for your preference for the the Historic Hotel Pousada Convento da Graça, Tavira, which deserves our utmost attention.
It is with words such as these which motivate us on a daily basis and helps us to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to be able to continue to welcome you, and look forward to see you again in Pousada Tavira.

Kind regards,
Paulo Ramos Silva
Director Zona | Complex Manager
Pousadas Região Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately some of the employees here do not leave you with a good impression. They work very long hours and appear unhappy. They are running between several areas of the hotel and as a result cannot meet the requirements of the guests. The selection of food for breakfast (hot) is poor for vegetarians. Also they only stock one brand of vodka and you are charged 6.50 for a measure. In addition the mixer you receive is poured from a large plastic bottle. Sometimes it’s also flat. If you request a small mixer you are charged five euros for this in addition to 6.50 for the alcohol. I can’t say this was a five star experience .

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Good morning
We thank you for your preference for the Historic Hotel Pousada Convento da Graça, Tavira,

The Pousadas of Portugal have high standards levels of quality and service. Due to our fault we are very sad, because our service did not correspond to your expectations.

However it is with words such as these which motivate us on a daily basis and helps us to improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to see you again in Pousada Tavira.

Kind regards,
Paulo Ramos Silva
Director Zona | Complex Manager
Pousadas Região Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We needed a place half way through the holiday just to relax, and this turned out to be the place. It is all about the guest, that is for sure. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The grounds are spotless, and the overall property has a sense of quiet. The pool is nice to relax at for a while, but it does get very hot during the day. We had a small issue in the dining room, but it was fixed immediately, so they get five stars here. The professional front desk staff was genuinely caring about our stay, and helpful when we needed it. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo S, General Manager at Pousada Convento de Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Good morning
We thank you for your preference for the the Historic Hotel Pousada Convento da Graça, Tavira, which deserves our utmost attention.
The reception staff is very proud about your comments, and to be able to satisfy your expectations about us.
It is with words such as these which motivate us on a daily basis and helps us to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to be able to continue to welcome you, and look forward to see you again in Pousada Tavira.

Kind regards,
Paulo Ramos Silva
Director Zona | Complex Manager
Pousadas Região Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews