We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
beeza1
Falkirk, United Kingdom

Good budget choice

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2024via mobile
This is a good value hotel in a great location. The decor is quirky and old fashioned. The included breakfast was not great and chaotic with rude guests.

I was totally bemused by the young chap on reception who, upon checking in, looked through my passport in great detail then asked if I should have a visa because "the UK is not in Europe". I swiftly corrected him that the UK was, is and always will be, part of Europe, that's geography (tho, tbf, he's not in alone making such a nonsensical assertion) and my passport did have the required stamp from passport control. I would not have got out of the airport without it. Quite why a hotel receptionist thought border control was within his remit is beyond me!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$280
  • Hotels.com
    $289
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Expedia.com
    $266
0.5 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Booking.com
$132
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Trip.com
    $106
  • travelup.com
    $129
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$238
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $246
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$108
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $108
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$124
  • Expedia.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Vio.com
    $124
0.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$240
  • Expedia.com
    $329
  • Hotels.com
    $323
  • travelup.com
    $364
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$364
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $348
  • Agoda.com
    $318
  • Expedia.com
    $354
0.7 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$161
  • Hotels.com
    $161
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Radissonhotels.com
$212
  • Booking.com
    $212
  • Priceline
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $212
1.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
$640
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $639
  • Official Site
    $638
  • Expedia.com
    $638
0.3 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
174
268
124
62
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
268
124
62
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus old town pancakes breakfast room recommend this hotel shopping mall yogurt min walk hotel restaurant nice breakfast receptionist suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Fantastic hotel perfect location,clean rooms very comfortable bed absolutely fantastic staff a definite must stay if visiting Riga. Friendly staff on arrival informative make you feel welcome ,lift available for those who struggle with stairs however second floor only a few steps

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leeaw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Order two rooms. but here was some confussion so we had to change rooms the second night. Arrived late too so the waiting time because of this was very tiring. Good breakfast and very central. Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Great stay. Rooms were old, but in a historic way so interesting place to spend a night. Clean.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

The location is excellent adjacent to bars restaurants and shopping areas
The hotel inside is a little quirky and needs an update to come up to some travellers expectations
Personally I liked it as it wasn’t stylish or designer but it was spotless
Thanks to Arthur the manager for our stay and organising transport to the airport on a late Sunday evening

Room tip: Some great restaurants around this hotel Use the trams as great for getting around also we found it helpful by going on a walking tour
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pjsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

Highly recommend the Hotel Monte Kristo. Ideal location, being a short walk from the old town and the market. High standard of cleanliness with comfortable beds and pillows. Fixtures and fittings are good quality. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak English. The breakfast is buffet style with both hot and cold options. The atmospheric cellar bar area is open in the evenings with reasonable drinks prices.
I think this hotel would be difficult to beat on quality, cleanliness and value.

Room tip: I was on the third floor on a main alley (R334). It had secondary double glazing and was very quiet, enabling a good night's sleep.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023

Hotel is in a good location and room was nice. Staff are friendly and helpful but breakfast room is too small. Lots of pubs and nice restaurants in the area. Beautiful city with lots to see and nice shops.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kazmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews