We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maria S

Historic building (good)

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2024
Order two rooms. but here was some confussion so we had to change rooms the second night. Arrived late too so the waiting time because of this was very tiring. Good breakfast and very central. Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Great stay. Rooms were old, but in a historic way so interesting place to spend a night. Clean.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    $529
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $166
1.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
174
268
125
64
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
268
125
64
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus old town pancakes breakfast room recommend this hotel shopping mall yogurt min walk hotel restaurant nice breakfast receptionist suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

The location is excellent adjacent to bars restaurants and shopping areas
The hotel inside is a little quirky and needs an update to come up to some travellers expectations
Personally I liked it as it wasn’t stylish or designer but it was spotless
Thanks to Arthur the manager for our stay and organising transport to the airport on a late Sunday evening

Room tip: Some great restaurants around this hotel Use the trams as great for getting around also we found it helpful by going on a walking tour
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pjsc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

Highly recommend the Hotel Monte Kristo. Ideal location, being a short walk from the old town and the market. High standard of cleanliness with comfortable beds and pillows. Fixtures and fittings are good quality. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak English. The breakfast is buffet style with both hot and cold options. The atmospheric cellar bar area is open in the evenings with reasonable drinks prices.
I think this hotel would be difficult to beat on quality, cleanliness and value.

Room tip: I was on the third floor on a main alley (R334). It had secondary double glazing and was very quiet, enabling a good night's sleep.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023

Hotel is in a good location and room was nice. Staff are friendly and helpful but breakfast room is too small. Lots of pubs and nice restaurants in the area. Beautiful city with lots to see and nice shops.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kazmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

This hotel has character, we had a massive 7 foot double bed in a large room, with all we needed, including a fridge.
The restaurant is in the cellar below ground and can be a bit crowded at times, but if the weather is good they also have a large terraced area outside with tables set for eating or just for a drink. Menu is OK and reasonably priced, certainly all the meals we had there were prepared for us at the time. Breakfast is buffet style, but the choice was massive and you could have as much as you wanted.
The hotel is situated on the edge of the old city, but far enough from the bars etc. so that we were not affected with noise. Apparently all of the old city has centralised heated water and beware in the first week of August they test the system ready for the winter, we were not aware that the hotel would have no hot water for 2 days. Also be warned that although the bath has a plug wash basins do not, apparently that is normal in Latvia, so if you want to wash/shave etc. in the basin take a plug with you.

Room tip: Apart from breakfast meals are cooked for you when you order so don't be in too much of a hurry.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2023

A real small double room, you can barely walk around the bed.
The fridge is warm, the bed gives you a backache, the drain is halfway clogged, the thing to flush down on the toilet works only when it wants to. We addressed the issues without getting help.
The man in the reception is rude.

The food served for breakfast is probably typically Latvian. Looong lines and they don’t stock up if something runs out.

A lot of noise from the floor above, probably really bad isolation, but still hard to sleep in that much noise.

Some of staff are really nice.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews