We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kath F
Durham, United Kingdom

Hotel with Character.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2023
This hotel has character, we had a massive 7 foot double bed in a large room, with all we needed, including a fridge.
The restaurant is in the cellar below ground and can be a bit crowded at times, but if the weather is good they also have a large terraced area outside with tables set for eating or just for a drink. Menu is OK and reasonably priced, certainly all the meals we had there were prepared for us at the time. Breakfast is buffet style, but the choice was massive and you could have as much as you wanted.
The hotel is situated on the edge of the old city, but far enough from the bars etc. so that we were not affected with noise. Apparently all of the old city has centralised heated water and beware in the first week of August they test the system ready for the winter, we were not aware that the hotel would have no hot water for 2 days. Also be warned that although the bath has a plug wash basins do not, apparently that is normal in Latvia, so if you want to wash/shave etc. in the basin take a plug with you.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Apart from breakfast meals are cooked for you when you order so don't be in too much of a hurry.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
$305
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $300
  • Expedia.com
    $252
  • Priceline
    $284
0.5 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$501
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $502
  • Official Site
    $498
  • Expedia.com
    $502
0.3 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$141
  • Expedia.com
    $142
  • Vio.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $159
0.4 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$127
  • Expedia.com
    $128
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Hotels.com
    $128
0.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$147
  • Expedia.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
    $147
0.1 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$240
  • Expedia.com
    $268
  • Agoda.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $350
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$150
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Vio.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $151
0.3 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$203
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
    $203
0.8 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
$188
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $189
  • Priceline
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $189
1.0 km from Hotel Monte Kristo
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
174
268
124
63
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
268
124
63
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus old town pancakes breakfast room recommend this hotel shopping mall yogurt min walk hotel restaurant nice breakfast receptionist suitcases
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2023

A real small double room, you can barely walk around the bed.
The fridge is warm, the bed gives you a backache, the drain is halfway clogged, the thing to flush down on the toilet works only when it wants to. We addressed the issues without getting help.
The man in the reception is rude.

The food served for breakfast is probably typically Latvian. Looong lines and they don’t stock up if something runs out.

A lot of noise from the floor above, probably really bad isolation, but still hard to sleep in that much noise.

Some of staff are really nice.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023

Without doubt one of the worst hotels I have ever stepped inside, and totally misrepresented on booking websites. We stayed there for less than an hour before checking out and walking around Riga looking for an alternative, that's how bad it is.
The hotel markets itself as "an elegant and cozy boutique hotel" but in reality it's just old, dark, gloomy and musty smelling.
"Hospitality, exclusive service, professional and friendly personnel" is just nonsense.
It's a 2 Star hotel at best.

Room tip: Find somewhere else.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jrj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

The only good thing about the hotel is reception and breakfast . Hotel is dark gloomy . We had a room on the 4th floor that like like a Jail cell right out of Monte Kristin movie . Window in the ceiling every time you try to open it you’re worried if there are bugs that might fall on you they have this cloth that is the barrier between the window and bed and it’s half open . AC is barely working even though we mentioned it to the receptionist . The technician came to look at it but he was useless didn’t do a thing on day 4 it broke down while hot and humid in the room . No air circulation in the room. The hotel is dark and gloomy . Even the little cave where they serve breakfast which was excellent btw is dark and gloomy . I wouldn’t stay in this hotel ever again . We tried changing the room numerous times the hotel we’d saying it’s sold out .

Room tip: Avoid room with the high ceiling
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank yavetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

Quite nice hotell. Friendly and helpfull staff. Near bus stop line 22, so easy to come from airport, ill prefer Bolt taxi service, cheaper and faster.
We had room 43, Windows to 2 direction. Not much traffic noise. Good location.
Breakfast quite simple and breakfast room very very small.

Room tip: Use Bolt application If coming from or to airport. Ask extra pillows.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jemajumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Great location in Riga Old Town. Everything is walking distance from Monte Kristo Hotel. It looks dark on the website and it is a bit dark but good for sleeping. Don't let that put you off as the Arthur the owner is extremely helpful. You feel totally at home.

Room tip: It's 3 minutes walk from Bus Stop 22 for the Airport Bus. Costing 2eu it takes 25-40 minutes depending on traffic.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews